20

Music has always been a major source of inspiration for writers. The US author Maya Angelou described music as a place of refuge: "I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl back to loneliness." And with that quotation, BOZAR found a fitting name for this project.

 

Ten writers have drawn inspiration for works from BOZAR's music season - each writing a literary homage to a composer, musician, conductor or composition that has meant a great deal to them. Well-known Belgian and international writers have picked out a variety of concerts from our programme.

The ten texts which make up The Space between the Notes are gathered together in an exclusive publication, as well as in the programme booklets for our concerts. Highly recommended for anyone who loves music and literature! 

Ali Bader – Wolfang Amadeus Mozart

Alain Berenboom - Daniel Barenboim

Philippe Claudel - Sergueï Rachmaninov

Corinne Hoex - Leçons de ténèbres

Els Moors - J.S. Bach

Yves Petry - Ludwig von Beethoven

Pedro Sena-Lino - Fado

Nathalie Skowronek : Elisabeth Leonskaja

Wessel te Gussinklo : Anton Bruckner

Christophe Vekeman - Sufjan Stevens

23

La musique a de tout temps été une grande source d’inspiration pour les écrivains. Maya Angelou, écrivaine américaine disait de la musique qu’elle était son refuge. « I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl back to loneliness. » Des propos qui ont inspiré BOZAR, lui soufflant le nom de ce projet.

Dix auteurs se sont laissé inspirer par la saison musicale de BOZAR. Chacun d’eux rend ainsi un hommage littéraire à un compositeur, musicien, chef d’orchestre ou à une composition le touchant particulièrement. Ces auteurs renommés, belges et étrangers, ont fait leur choix parmi les divers concerts de notre programmation.

Chaque mois, un nouveau texte de The Space between the Notes est à découvrir dans les programmes de concerts et sur ce site. Les textes sont également rassemblés dans une publication exclusive, en vente les soirs de concert et à la BOZAR BOUTIK. Amoureux de musique et de littérature, cet ouvrage vous est destiné !

Ali Bader – Wolfang Amadeus Mozart

Alain Berenboom - Daniel Barenboim

Philippe Claudel - Sergueï Rachmaninov

Corinne Hoex - Leçons de ténèbres

Els Moors - J.S. Bach

Yves Petry - Ludwig von Beethoven

Pedro Sena-Lino - Fado

Nathalie Skowronek : Elisabeth Leonskaja

Wessel te Gussinklo : Anton Bruckner

Christophe Vekeman - Sufjan Stevens