13

A European project on cultural relations between Eastern and Western Europe
 

The East-West cultural narrative of Europe has always been nurtured by mutual fascination, various exchanges but also misunderstandings throughout the Cold War and continuing through the present day. Artists were and still are at the forefront of efforts to change perceptions between the two sides, connect people and introduce new  ways of thinking and understanding one another. 
 

“Trauma & Revival” offers an ambitious journey that showcases and reflects upon the ties between the East and the West during the Cold War and today. Between 2015 and 2018, six partners will engage one another in the interest of international cooperation, bringing together artists, intellectuals and citizens from across the continent. “Trauma & Revival” offers a stimulating platform to revisit a shared history, change today’s perceptions and imagine new forms of cultural dialogue. It echoes the current context in Europe. Through exhibitions, artist residencies, video programmes, workshops, conferences, roundtables, and a digital timeline, this project will raise meaningful questions about our current relationships in order to move towards a common future.

 

Ongoing and upcoming:

Follow the project on Facebook: www.facebook.com/traumarevival/

 

Did you know?

  • Cultural diplomacy between Eastern and Western Europe from 1945 till today

    The University of Jyväskylä will hold a conference entitled East-West Cultural Relations: Interplay of Arts and Cultural Diplomacy 1945-2017, which seeks to strengthen the research of cultural exchanges across national borders.

    read more
    — published on
  • Opening of the Exhibition "Art in Europe 1945-1968" at the ZKM - Photo: Felix Grünschloß

    ‘Facing the Future. Art in Europe 1945-68’ now at ZKM

    The Exhibition Facing the Future. Art in Europe 1945-68 is now open at the ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, under a new title Art in Europe 1945–1968. The Continent that the EU does not know, where it will be on show from 22 October 2016 until 29 January 2017.

    read more
    — published on
  • BOZAR in Moscow

    On March 6, 2017 the Center for Fine Arts (BOZAR) together in partnership with the Pushkin State Museum of fine Arts and ZKM Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe inaugurated the exhibition “Facing the Future. Art in Europe 1945-1968” in Moscow, Russia. The exhibition was praised by The Art Newspaper Russia as an “extremely important international project” overcoming the “conventional ideological divisions between the free West and the communist East”.

    read more
    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

18

Un projet européen sur les relations culturelles entre l'Europe de l’Est et de l’Ouest
 

Le dialogue culturel entre l’Europe de l’Est et de l’Ouest a toujours été nourri par une fascination réciproque, des échanges multiples mais aussi des malentendus tout au long de la guerre froide et ce, jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Les artistes étaient, et sont toujours, à l’avant-garde des mouvements permettant de changer les perceptions entre les deux ‘camps’, de rapprocher les gens et d’introduire de nouveaux modes de pensée et de compréhension de l’autre.
 

"Trauma & Revival" propose un ambitieux parcours visant à mettre en valeur et à réfléchir sur les liens culturels entre l’Est et l’Ouest depuis la guerre froide jusqu’à nos jours. Entre 2015 et 2018, six partenaires européens s’engageront dans une dynamique de coopération internationale, réunissant des artistes, des intellectuels et des citoyens des quatre coins du continent. "Trauma & Revival" offre une plate-forme stimulante pour revisiter notre histoire commune, changer nos perceptions actuelles et imaginer de nouvelles formes de dialogue culturel. Il fait également écho au contexte actuel de l'Europe. Par le biais d’expositions, de résidences artistiques, de programmes vidéo, d’ateliers, de conférences, de tables-rondes, d’une ligne du temps numérique... ce projet tentera de soulever les questions pertinentes sur nos relations actuelles afin d’ouvrir des voies vers un avenir commun.

 

En cours et à venir

Suivez le projet sur la page Facebook www.facebook.com/traumarevival/


 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • La diplomatie culturelle entre l’Europe de l’Est et de l’Ouest de 1945 à nos jours

    L'Université de Jyväskylä organise une conférence intitulée East-West Cultural Relations: Interplay of Arts and Cultural Diplomacy 1945-2017, qui vise à renforcer la recherche sur les échanges culturels transnationaux.

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • Opening of the Exhibition "Art in Europe 1945-1968" at the ZKM - Photo: Felix Grünschloß

    ‘Facing the Future. Art in Europe 1945-68’ au ZKM

    L'exposition Facing the Future. Art in Europe 1945-68 s’expose au ZKM | Centre d'Art et des Technologie des Médias à Karlsruhe du 22 octobre 2016 au 29 janvier 2017, sous le titre Art in Europe 1945–1968. The Continent that the EU does not know.

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • BOZAR à Moscou

    Le 6 mars dernier, le Palais des Beaux-Arts (BOZAR), en partenariat avec le Musée des Beaux-Arts Pouchkine et ZKM Karlsruhe a inauguré à Moscou l'exposition " Facing the Future. Art in Europe 1945-1968". L'exposition a été saluée par The Art Newspaper Russia, comme étant un "projet international extrêmement important" surmontant les "divisions idéologiques traditionnelles entre l'Occident libre et l'Est communiste".

    lire la suite
    — publié le

Précédemment