13

Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi director, lighting design, video, dramaturgy – Seyed Jamal Hashemi direction assistance, text – Shiva Falahi actress – Sonia Sanjari actress – Mohammad Abbasi actor – Kazem Sayahi Saharkhiz actor – Hamed Nejabat actor – Danial Tayebian video – Negar Nemati costumes

Director Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi paints a portrait of five refugees in this Iranian epic. They are hiding out in a forest on the border between two countries. Like Homer's Odysseus, or Esfandiar, hero of the epic Persian poem ‘Shahnama’, they have many obstacles to overcome before reaching their destination. The border – blurred and indefinite – is the symbol for hell. Though they speak in whispers their inner voices are loud and clear. The physical odyssey is also a journey of redemption. 

PROGRAMME 27.01 - 19:00
The eternal odyssey

BOZAR and the KVS are teaming up for a major double bill at the Centre for Fine Arts. The Iranian director Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi will be presenting his On Which Wind Will You Ride?, the story of five refugees that evokes both the Greek hero Odysseus and Esfandyar, hero of the epic Persian poem Shahnameh. A week later KVS will be premiering Odysseus, een zwerver komt thuis [Odysseus, a wanderer comes home] with a brand new translation by Patrick Lateur for this rendition of Homer's Odyssey.

Classicist Patrick De Rynck will be discussing in Dutch the 'eternal odyssey' with David Rijser and Patrick Lateur. The theme of the (inner) journey, return and flight remains as pertinent today as ever. An example of the ‘always new antiquity’ about which Rijser has written a book. After the performance there will be a Q&A with director Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi.

20:30: Performance (Studio)
22:00: Q&A with Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi

PROGRAMME 28.01 - 20:30 (Studio)
Exceptionally there will be no introduction on January 28.

 

The speakers on January 27:

David Rijser (°1956) is a classicist. He teaches at the University of Amsterdam and regularly publishes articles on antiquity and cultural history, including in NRC Handelsblad. In 2012 he published a study on the link between pictorial art and literature in the Renaissance: Raphael’s Poetics: Art & Poetry in High Renaissance Rome. In March of this year his long awaited book on the response of the modern world to the works of antiquity was published with the title Een telkens nieuwe oudheid. Of: hoe Tiberius in New Jersey belandde (AUP) [An always new antiquity. Or: How Tiberius landed in New Jersey] that was warmly welcomed in the press.

Patrick Lateur (°1949) is a classicist and has published as a translator, poet and anthologist. A selection of his poetry appeared in the Parnassus series of the publisher P: In tegenstroom (2015) [Against the Current]. In 2016 Athenaeum published his translation of Homer's Odyssey, a companion volume to his translation of the Iliad that in 2013 won the Culture Prize for Literature from the Flemish Community.

Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi (°1976) grew up in Chiraz, Iran. He is an author, actor, filmmaker and theatre director. In 1995 he joined the Mehr Theatre Group. In 2006 he wrote the play It’s a good day to die, about the Iran-Iraq war, but the play was censored. The earthquake in Bam inspired him to write Half-Open Doors. On Which Wind Will You Ride had its premiere in Fribourg in 2015.

24

Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi dramaturgie, mise en scène, vidéo, éclairages – Seyed Jamal Hashemi assistance mise en scène, texte – Shiva Falahi comédienne – Sonia Sanjari comédienne – Mohammad Abbasi comédien – Kazem Sayahi Saharkhiz comédien – Ankido Darash créateur son – Hamed Nejabat comédien – Danial Tayebian vidéo – Negar Nemati costumes

Dans ce poème épique iranien, le metteur en scène Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi dresse le portrait de cinq réfugiés, cachés dans un bois à la frontière entre deux pays. À l’instar d’Ulysse dans l’épopée d’Homère et d’Esfandiyar, le héros du poème épique perse  « Shâhnâmeh », nos cinq personnages doivent surmonter des obstacles pour rejoindre leur destination. La frontière – floue et imprécise – symbolise l’enfer. Et même s’ils chuchotent, leur voix intérieure est clairement audible. Une odyssée physique mais aussi un voyage vers la délivrance. 

 

PROGRAMME 27.01 - 19:00 (Terarken)
La perpétuelle odyssée

BOZAR et le KVS unissent leurs forces pour nous proposer une double programmation : le metteur en scène iranien Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi présentera son œuvre On Which Wind Will You Ride? (Quel vent t’emportera ?) au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Cette histoire de cinq migrants renvoie tant à Ulysse, le héros de l’épopée grecque de L’Odyssée, qu’à Esfandiyar, le héros du poème épique perse Shâhnâmeh. Une semaine plus tard aura lieu la première d’Odysseus, een zwerver komt thuis au KVS, une pièce pour laquelle Patrick Lateur a rédigé une toute nouvelle traduction de L’Odyssée d’Homère.

Le philologue classique Patrick De Rynck s'entretiendra en néerlandais avec le philologue David Rijser et Patrick Lateur au sujet de « la perpétuelle odyssée » et des thèmes, toujours très actuels, du voyage (intérieur), du retour et de la fuite. Un exemple « d’antiquité toujours neuve » à laquelle David Rijser a consacré un ouvrage. La pièce sera suivie d’un Q&A avec le metteur en scène Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi.

20:30: représentation (Studio)
22:00: Q&A avec Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi

PROGRAMME 28.01 - 20:30 (Studio)
Exceptionnellement il n'y aura pas d'introduction le 28 janvier

 

Les orateurs du 27 janvier:

David Rijser (1956) est philologue. Il enseigne à l’Université d’Amsterdam et publie régulièrement dans les médias des articles sur l’Antiquité et l’histoire de la culture, notamment dans le NRC Handelsblad. En 2012, il a publié une étude sur les liens entre les beaux-arts et la littérature à la Renaissance, Raphael’s Poetics : Art & Poetry in High Renaissance Rome. En mars 2016 est paru son ouvrage traitant de l’empreinte laissée par l’Antiquité et les classiques sur des périodes plus récentes, en particulier la Renaissance et la culture contemporaine. Een telkens nieuwe oudheid. Of : hoe Tiberius in New Jersey belandde (AUP) fut accueilli avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme par la presse.

Patrick Lateur (1949) est philologue, traducteur, poète et anthologiste. Une  sélection de ses poèmes est parue dans la série Parnassus de la maison d’édition P : In tegenstroom (2015). Athenaeum a publié en 2016 sa traduction de l’Odyssée d’Homère, formant un diptyque avec celle de l’Iliade, couronnée en 2013 par le Prix de la culture de la Communauté flamande pour les Lettres.

Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi (1976) a grandi à Chiraz, en Iran. Il est auteur, acteur, metteur en scène et directeur de théâtre. En 1995, il a rejoint le Mehr Theatre Group. En 2006, il a écrit It’s a Good Day to Die, une pièce consacrée à la guerre Iran-Irak, qui a été censurée. Le tremblement de terre à Bam lui a inspiré Half-Open Doors. La première d’On Which Wind Will You Ride a été présentée à Fribourg en 2015.