12

Boris Pavlovich actor, director – Olga Pavlovich actress

‘Vyatlag’ is the name of a Gulag built in the northeast of the Russian province of Kirov in 1938. More than 100,000 people were sentenced to hard labour there under Stalin before being sent to Siberia. So too was Arturs Strandiņš. This quiet Latvian kept a diary of his ten-year stay there, which he wrote on cigarette papers. They are a blueprint of the stark life in the Gulag and symbolise his silent act of opposition to the dehumanisation of the system. Authentic folk songs are sung live between the readings to make the witness accounts more bearable. A minimalist and unexpectedly noble production.

INTRODUCTION:
On 16 March (19:00) BOZAR is inviting Olga Romanova and Aleksei Kozlov to discuss the current situation in Russia. How is the repression operating? What is the situation in the prisons? What has changed since the collapse of the Soviet Union?
Boris Pavlovich, director of Vyatlag, will join the discussion.
Free upon presentation of your entrance ticket for Vyatlag.
The introduction will be held in English.

Unfortunately Stepan Zimin will not participate in the discussion.

INVITEES:
Olga Romanova
is a renowned Russian journalist and human rights activist, and the executive director of the civil rights movement ‘Russia Behind Bars’ (Rus’ Sidyaschaya). She became widely known in 1999-2005 for her analytical show‘ 24 with Olga Romanova’ on Ren-TV. In 2005, she became the anchor of several shows on Echo of Moscow radio, followed by positions at Segodnya, Versiya, Vedomosti, Novaya Gazeta newspapers, as well as The New Times, the Russian version of Business Week, and Slon Magazine. Romanova’s work as a human rights activist started after her husband was arrested in 2008 on trumped-up charges.

26

Boris Pavlovich comédien, mise en scène – Olga Pavlovich comédienne

« Vyatlag » est le nom du goulag construit en 1938 dans le nord-est de la province russe de Kirov. Plus de 100 000 travailleurs forcés y ont été détenus durant le régime stalinien, avant d’être envoyés en Sibérie. C’est le cas d’Arturs Strandiņš. Pendant dix ans, cet homme taciturne originaire de Lettonie a écrit son journal sur des fines feuilles de papier à cigarettes. Témoignage des conditions de vie extrêmement pénibles dans le goulag, ce journal symbolise l’opposition silencieuse contre ce système inhumain. Lus à voix haute, les extraits sont entrecoupés de chants populaires authentiques qui rendent les témoignages plus supportables. Un spectacle minimaliste d’une générosité inattendue.

INTRODUCTION:
Le 16 mars à 19h, BOZAR invite Olga Romanova et Aleksei Kozlov à parler de la situation actuelle en Russie. Comment s'organise la répression ? Quelle est la situation dans les prisons ? Qu'est-ce qui a changé depuis la chute de l'Union soviétique ?
Boris Pavlovich, le metteur en scène de Vyatlag, prendra également part à la discussion.
Accès gratuit à l'introduction sur présentation de votre ticket Vyatlag.
L'introduction se déroulera en anglais.

Malheureusement Stepan Zimin ne pourra pas être présent.

Intervenants:
Olga Romanova est une journaliste russe de renom, militante des droits de l’homme et directrice exécutive du mouvement de défense des droits civiques « La Russie emprisonnée » (Rus’ Sidyaschaya). Elle est devenue célèbre entre 1999 et 2005 pour son émission d’analyse « 24 heures avec Olga Romanova » sur Ren-TV. À partir de 2005, elle a présenté plusieurs émissions sur la chaîne de radio Écho de Moscou, puis, elle a travaillé pour les journaux Segodnya, Versiya, Vedomosti, Novaya Gazeta, ainsi que The New Times (la version russe du BusinessWeek) et Slon Magazine. Le combat pour les droits de l’homme d’Olga Romanova a commencé en 2008, quand son mari a été arrêté en raison de fausses accusations.