12

Lorin Sklamberg accordion, guitar, piano, voix – Frank London keyboard, trumpet, voix – Matt Darriau clarinet, flute, saxophone, voix – Lisa Gutkin violin, voix – Paul Morrissett bass, voix – Richie Barshay drums, voix

CONTEXT

19:00 - Master Talk: A Listener’s Guide to Radical & Traditional Klezmer: introduction by The Klezmatics (EN), Salle M  

Members of The Klezmatics play examples of both traditional and their own style of klezmer and Yiddish music. They will also teach you Yiddish songs, introduce their new recording, Apikorsim/Heretics and discuss their 30 Years of working towards tikkun olam (healing the world) through progressive Yiddish music and politics.


The New York group the Klezmatics is one of the icons of the contemporary klezmer scene. Headed by the saxophonist Frank London, the group combines jazz, folk, rock, gospel, avant-garde and classical. A revival of the music played by roaming Jewish musicians in Eastern Europe during the previous century. A combination of traditional tunes and selections from its own repertoire. The Klezmatics will enthral you with their authentic festive music, underpinned by a jubilant clarinet, a weeping violin, the sensual voice of Lorin Sklamberg and a smoking hot rhythm section.

18

Lorin Sklamberg accordéon, guitare, piano, voix – Frank London clavier, trompette, voix – Matt Darriau clarinette, flûte, saxophone, voix – Lisa Gutkin violon, voix – Paul Morrissett guitare basse, voix – Richie Barshay batterie, voix

ENCADREMENT

19:00 - Master Talk : A Listener’s Guide to Radical & Traditional Klezmer : introduction par The Klezmatics, (EN), Salle M 

Les membres de The Klezmatics vous proposent des morceaux de musique klezmer et yiddish traditionnelle revisitée à leur manière. Ils vous enseigneront également des chansons yiddish, parleront de leur nouvel album Apikorsim/Heretics, ainsi que de leur travail depuis 30 ans pour le tikkun olam (la réparation du monde) par le biais de la musique yiddish et d’une politique progressiste.


Le groupe new-yorkais The Klezmatics fait partie des icônes du klezmer contemporain. Le groupe autour du saxophoniste Frank London mêle jazz, folk, rock, gospel, avant-garde et classique. Ils donnent un nouveau souffle à la musique que jouaient les musiciens juifs itinérants au siècle dernier en Europe de l’Est et combinent des morceaux traditionnels avec leur propre répertoire. La musique festive authentique des Klezmatics vous ravira grâce aux cris de joie de la clarinette, aux pleurs du violon, au chant langoureux de Lorin Sklamberg et à une fabuleuse section rythmique.