20

With the 2016 NIKON Monography Series Award, NIKON and BOZAR reward a high-profile series by a Belgium-based photographer. A jury selects the most powerful or most original images from the numerous entries. In return the winner gets a solo exhibition from 16 November 2016 till 08 January 2017.

In this series the young photographer Massao Mascaro (°1990, Lille) shows us his subtle yet complex view of the garden. All the images portray the delicate tension which occurs in space and time. Jardin is an extremely poetic tale that goes beyond banality: the space between two hands, a twig trapped in a fence, a ray of sunshine on a waving branch… these are all “minute windows on eternity”. Massao lives and works in Brussels and is a founding member of La Grotte, a Brussels collective of photographers.

This is what the jury had to say:

VRT journalist Kurt Van Eeghem: in his subject matter this young photographer “goes beyond the banal, with a great sense of the aesthetic”. Maarten Goossens, NPS manager at Nikon: “They are captivating images. Every photo is complete in itself but is also part of a concept and as a consequence has more layers than an isolated image.” Inge Braeckman of the magazine H_ART also emphasises the depth of these photos and was likewise seduced by the “poetic images you can’t help going back to”. Jean-Marc Bodson, photo critic for La Libre, adds: “Massao manages to reconcile poetry with a conceptual complexity”. The photos and, in particular the whole, “are in keeping with the spirit of the age”, according to visual artist and photo journalist Mahid Mohadjerin.

Did you know?

  • Jardin © Massao Mascaro

    Massao Mascaro wins the NIKON-BOZAR Monography Series Award #4

    A multidisciplinary jury has rewarded the young photographer for the poetry, aesthetics and coherence of his “Jardin” series

    read more
    — published on

18

Le NIKON Monography Series Award 2016 est une récompense décernée par NIKON et BOZAR pour une série de clichés saisissants pris par un photographe résidant en Belgique. Un jury sélectionne les images les plus fortes ou originales. Le lauréat exposera en solo à BOZAR du 16 novembre 2016 au 08 janvier 2017.

 

Dans cette série, le jeune photographe Massao Mascaro (°1990, Lille) pose un regard subtil mais complexe sur le jardin. Chaque cliché évoque la tension délicate qui s’y déploie dans l’espace et dans le temps. Jardin raconte ainsi une histoire profondément poétique, au-delà des limites de la réalité : l’espace entre deux mains, un rameau figé dans une barrière, un rayon de soleil éclairant la courbure d’une branche… autant de « minuscules fenêtres sur l’éternité ». Massao vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Il est l’un des membres fondateurs de La Grotte, un collectif de photographes bruxellois. 

Découvrez ici le rapport du jury :

Pour Kurt Van Eeghem, journaliste à la VRT, le jeune photographe parvient à dépasser « la frontière du banal » et livre un travail d’une « grande esthétique ». Maarten Goossens, manager NPS chez Nikon : « Ce sont des images accrocheuses. Chaque photographie existe en tant que telle tout en faisant partie d’un concept. Ainsi, elle possède plus de "couches" qu’une image seule ». Inge Braeckman du magazine H_ART insiste sur la profondeur des clichés et a été séduite par « leur poésie qui vous empêche de détourner le regard ». Jean-Marc Bodson, critique photo pour La Libre, rejoint ses propos : « Massao parvient à fusionner poésie et complexité conceptuelle ». Les différentes photographies, et surtout l’ensemble qu’elles forment, « s’inscrivent tout à fait dans la contemporanéité », explique l’artiste visuel et photojournaliste Mahid Mohadjerin.

 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Jardin © Massao Mascaro

    Massao Mascaro décroche le Monography Series Award Nikon-BOZAR#4

    Un jury multidisciplinaire a récompensé le jeune photographe pour la poésie, l’esthétique et la cohérence de sa série Jardin

    lire la suite
    — publié le