20

Contemporary drawing  / specifics for all possibilities

Drawing enjoys significant consideration on the international arts scene, whether it comes to exhibitions, biennial arts events and art critic reviews, to institutions and individuals whose collections are committed to drawings, or still to galleries and specialised fairs. While in the past, drawing used to be confined to the auxiliary rank of artistic practice, it now holds its own place in the world of contemporary art; the medium had succeeded in conquering its autonomy.
With its specifics rooted in graphic expression, which composes the image with lines, drawing nonetheless allows for a vast number of possibilities to be introduced, for a pallet of perspectives to be displayed and for artists to reveal their uniqueness, whether they dedicate the entirety of their work to drawing or lend themselves to it occasionally. Whether it is figurative, abstract, monumental, minimalist, three- dimensional, shimmering, discreet, performance-based, narrative... its incessantly renewed possibilities, both in its compositions and in its procedures, demonstrate the richness and pertinence of contemporary drawing.

Art on paper, solo shows to exhibit graphic uniqueness

Art on Paper has made itself the sounding board for this pertinence that is specific to the medium by devoting itself strictly to drawing in its most contemporary expression. For this sixth edition, taking place from 8 to 11 September 2016, the Brussels contemporary drawing show will take again possession of the BOZAR Terarken rooms with a plan to connect some twenty solo shows selected from international galleries. An artist’s stroke will thus stand out within each exhibition space. A new artistic director, supported by a selection committee, maintains the lasting and demanding line drawn for the show. GENERAL MANAGER

PRODUCTION: VO-EVENT, Michel Culot & Patrick Parmentier
FAIR DIRECTOR Adeline d’Ursel
ARTISTIC DIRECTOR Pauline Hatzigeorgiou

21

Le dessin contemporain / une spécificité pour tous les possibles

Le dessin jouit d’égards importants sur la scène artistique internationale, que l’on songe aux expositions, biennales et revues critiques qui s’y consacrent, aux institutions et individus qui lui dédient leurs collections, ou encore aux galeries et foires spécialisées. Jadis relégué au rang d’auxiliaire à la pratique artistique, il détient désormais sa place dans le monde de l’art contemporain; le médium a su conquérir son autonomie.
Puisant sa spécificité dans l’expression graphique, celle qui compose par le trait, le dessin ne permet pas moins d’inscrire une multitude de possibles, de décliner ses perspectives et de laisser transparaître la singularité de l’artiste, qu’il lui dévoue l’intégralité de son oeuvre ou s’y prête occasionnellement. Figuratif, abstrait, monumental, minimaliste, tridimensionnel, chatoyant, discret, performatif, narratif, … ses potentialités sans cesse renouvelées, tant dans ses compositions que dans ses procédures, attestent de la richesse et de la pertinence du dessin contemporain.

Art on paper / des solo shows pour exposer les singularités graphiques

Cette pertinence propre au médium, Art on Paper s’en fait la caisse de résonance en se consacrant strictement au dessin dans ses formulations les plus actuelles. Pour cette sixième édition qui prend place du 8 au 11 septembre 2016, le salon du dessin contemporain de Bruxelles investira à nouveau les salles Terarken de BOZAR et articulera une vingtaine de solos shows sélectionnés auprès de galeries belges et internationales. Se distingue alors au sein de chaque espace d’exposition le trait d’un artiste.
Une direction artistique nouvelle, épaulée par un comité de sélection, assure le maintien de la ligne -  vivace et exigeante - tracée pour le salon. 

PRODUCTION : VO-EVENT,  Michel Culot & Patric Parmentier
DIRECTRICE DU SALON : Adeline d’Ursel
DIRECTRICE ARTISTIQUE : Pauline Hatzigeorgiou