27

The Belgian artist Pol Bury (1922-2005) is one of the founders of kinetic art. After his beginnings in painting, marked by the influence of Magritte, and time spent with other members of Jeune Peinture belge and CoBrA, he decided to follow a new path. His fascination for the art of Alexander Calder resulted in him turning towards sculpture and incorporating motion in his work. Thanks to his deeply personal work, which is both a successor of surrealism and bursting with innovation, he made a name for himself in the Paris and New York art scenes, thus obtaining international recognition.

This retrospective is an opportunity to discover Bury’s vast and diverse oeuvre. Paintings, sculptures, mobile works, fountains, jewellery, graphic and written creations are all on display in the biggest exhibition Belgium has dedicated to this major artist in twenty years.

Artistic advisor: Gilles Marquenie

With special thanks to Velma Bury.
We would also like to extend our thanks to our generous Patron.

 Avoid queues and buy your tickets online.

Visit the archives online

Did you know?

  • Make the most of the new Spring Pass

    For just 30 euros you can visit the exhibitions Pol Bury. Time in Motion, Yves Klein. Theatre of the Void, Malta. Land of Sea and BelgianArtPrize2017 whenever you want (please note that the exhibitions have different closing dates), until 20 August 2017. This Spring pass is on sale till 28 May 2017. Interested?

    read more
    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

25

L'artiste belge Pol Bury (1922-2005) est un des fondateurs de l'art cinétique. Après des débuts en peinture marqués par l’influence de Magritte et un passage au sein des groupes Jeune Peinture belge et CoBrA, il emprunte une nouvelle voie. Fasciné par l’art d’Alexander Calder, Bury se tourne vers la sculpture et intègre le mouvement dans son œuvre. Grâce à son travail profondément personnel, à la fois héritier du surréalisme et pétri d’innovation, il s’impose sur les scènes artistiques de Paris et New York, accédant ainsi à une reconnaissance internationale.

Au travers de cette rétrospective, découvrez l’œuvre vaste et diversifiée de Bury. Peintures, sculptures, œuvres mobiles, fontaines, bijoux, réalisations graphiques et écrits vous sont présentés lors de cette exposition, la plus importante dédiée à cet artiste majeur sur le sol belge depuis vingt ans.

Conseiller artistique : Gilles Marquenie

Avec nos remerciements particuliers à Velma Bury.
Nous remercions également notre généreux mécène.

Evitez les files d’attente et achetez vos billets en ligne.

Visitez les archives en ligne 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Profitez de notre nouveau pass du printemps

    Pour 30 euros à peine, vous pourrez visiter les expositions Pol Bury. Time in Motion, Yves Klein. Theatre of the Void, Malta. Land of Sea et BelgianArtPrize2017 quand vous le souhaiterez (attention, veuillez tenir compte des différentes dates de fermeture des expos), jusqu’au 20 août 2017. Le pass est en vente jusqu’au 28 mai 2017. Cela vous intéresse ?

    lire la suite
    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment