20

BOZAR NIGHT has got something really special lined up, giving audiences the best of both worlds with powerful exhibitions and quality electronic acts. The headliner is Junior Boys, the Canadian duo that has just released a brand new album full of sultry mixes of industrial pop, techno and melancholic disco with an electronic soul. Helena Hauff is pretty much the best DJ around if you’re talking about dark techno, wave and postpunk. Dasha Rush brings us techno with a poetic edge. Amnesia Scanner from Berlin is treating crowds to a spectacular audio-visual experience with its leftfield electronics, while Hiele provides the most passionate home-grown techno-electronica. Ash Koosha serves up bold filmic post-dubstep and the surprising Japanese band Goat gives us a hearty serving of tribal noise. techno without electronics.

Music - 20:00 - 03:00
Hall Horta
21:00 Icy Fake (Proximus Music competition winner)
23:00 Junior Boys (CA)
00:20 Amnesia Scanner (DE)
01:00 Helena Hauff (D)

Terarken
21:30 goat (JP)
22:30 Ash Koosha (Iran)
23:30 Hiele (B)
00:30 Dasha Rush (Ru)

Exhibitions - 20:00 - 01:00 (last entrance 00:30)
The Power of the Avant-Garde
Congo Art Works
A Feverish Era in Japanese Art
Picasso. Sculptures

Line Up
Junior Boys (CA)
Canadian duo Junior Boys released its 5th album this year after a five year hiatus. Pioneers in their very own way for what has become known as electronic soul (Jame Blake & co), the Boys have been collaborating with artists such as Jessy Lanza and Dan Snaith (Caribou) before returning to their own sound: a mix of industrial pop, with a techno awareness and a melancholic disco vibe.

Helena Hauff (D) - dj set
As a producer, musician and DJ, Helena has recently been at the forefront of the darker side of electronics. After releasing numerous 12'' and collaborative works, her first full album "Discreet Desires" was one of the best electronic records released last year and showcased her talents as a composer. As a DJ, Hauff plays music from the stranger, more psychedelic end of the electro, acid, techno, EBM, and minimal synth spectrum. 

Dasha Rush (RU) - dj set 
Dasha Rush is a Russian born dj, producer and musician. She has released music on labels such as Raster-Noton and has collaborated and created various audio-visual performances and installations. Dasha likes to push the boundaries of contemporary dance music to the limit, encourages experimentation with various musical (and non-musical) forms and assembles them into a thoughtful composition and interaction between the media. “In her strange and twisted world the machines are the protagonists of a neo-romanticism, weaved with human dreams.”

Ash Koosha (IRAN)
"To say Ash Koosha is an Iranian-born, London-based electronic musician is barely to scratch the surface of what this remarkable man is all about. A synaesthete who sees colours as sound, a virtual reality pioneer, a software humanist, a politcal cause celebre, a former rock musician and student of classical music, there are as many facets to him as there is texture in his fractal, complex, remarkable music."

Amnesia Scanner (DE) - AV show
Being quite a mystery, we don't know much about this duo. Their music is a complex yet euphoric mix of strange analog yet unsouceable sounds, composed on computer. Their visuals translate the same feeling, being slightly lost but enjoying it. We know they are affiliated with Berlin’s Janus collective (Lotic, M.E.S.H., Kablam). They contributed to "An Exit" from Holly Herndon’s Platform, and they produced a very interesting Mykki Blanco track. We're all very curious!

Goat (JAP)
As a muscial paralel for our Japanese avant-garde exhibition, we introduce the Japanese foursome Goat. Created around Hino, one of the musicians of the world famous Boredoms, the band has made jaws drop everywhere they have played. With a classical line up of drums, guitar, bass and saxophone, the band recreates an energetic and ultra precise take on minimalist techno, without electronics. And so much more.

Hiele (B)
Hiele’s music is hard to describe but has its roots in electronica, built upon a long time obsession for synthetic sound creation and jazz studies. On stage Hiele plays with expectation, going past what is considered conventional, blending improvisational and classical elements into a no-nonsense personal idiom. Hiele has released his music on his Antwerp based label Ekster, and as Roman Hiele he has collaborated in the realms of fashion, documentary film, theatre and art productions. Definitely someone to look out for in the near future!

23

La BOZAR NIGHT présente le meilleur de deux univers esthétiques grâce à des expositions fortes et des artistes de musique électronique de haute volée. En vedette, Junior Boys, le duo canadien qui vient de sortir un album débordant d’un mix sensuel de pop industrielle, de techno et de disco mélancolique teintée d’une âme électronique. Helena Hauff est probablement la meilleure DJ dans le domaine de la techno sombre, de la wave et du post-punk. Dasha Rush, pour sa part, renouvelle la techno par un côté poétique. Les Berlinois d’Amnesia Scanner vous invitent à une expérience audiovisuelle spectaculaire obscure et hypnotique, Hiele propose une des techno-electronica les plus chaleureuses de chez nous et Ash Koosha un riche post-dubstep cinématographique. Quant aux musiciens du groupe japonais Goat, ils recréent sous vos yeux une tribal noise techno explosive à l’aide de leurs instruments : un événement à vivre en live !

Music - 20:00 - 03:00
Hall Horta
21 :00 Icy Fake (Proximus Music competition winner)
23 :00 Junior Boys (CA)
00 :20 Amnesia Scanner (DE)
01 :00 Helena Hauff (D)


Terarken

21:30 goat (JP)
22:30 Ash Koosha (Iran) 
23:30 Hiele (B)
00:30 Dasha Rush (Ru)

Exhibitions - 20:00 - 01:00 (last entrance 00:30)
The Power of the Avant-Garde
Congo Art Works
A Feverish Era in Japanese Art
Picasso. Sculptures

Line up
Junior Boys (CA)
En 2016, après cinq années de silence, le duo canadien Junior Boys a sorti son cinquième album. Pionniers à leur façon de ce qui a donné naissance à la musique soul électronique (à la James Blake et compagnie), les Boys ont collaboré avec des artistes tels que Jessy Lanza et Dan Snaith (Caribou) avant de renouer avec leur propre identité sonore : un mélange de pop industrielle agrémenté d’une touche de techno et de disco mélancolique.

Helena Hauff (D) - dj set
En tant que productrice, musicienne et DJ, Helena a récemment occupé le devant de la scène électronique underground. Après plusieurs LP et collaborations diverses, son premier album Discreet Desires a été reconnu comme l’une des meilleures sorties électro de l’année dernière. Cet opus illustre à merveille les talents de compositrice de Hauff qui, lorsqu’elle enfile sa casquette de DJ, enchaîne des titres électro, acid, techno, EBM et minimal synth aux penchants psychédéliques.

Dasha Rush (RU) - dj set
Dasha Rush est une DJ, productrice et musicienne d’origine russe. Elle a publié sur des labels tels que Raster-Noton et a collaboré à la création de nombreuses performances et installations audiovisuelles. Dasha aime repousser les limites de la musique dance contemporaine en proposant des formes expérimentales variées, musicales ou non, qu’elle assemble dans des compositions interactives mûrement réfléchies. « Dans son univers étrange et un peu tordu, les machines sont les protagonistes d’un néoromantisme entrelacé de rêves humains. »

Ash Koosha (IRAN)
« Décrire Ash Koosha comme un musicien électronique né en Iran et établi à Londres ne suffit pas à saisir la profondeur de cet homme remarquable. Synesthète qui perçoit les sons comme des couleurs, pionnier de la réalité virtuelle, humaniste de la programmation informatique, cause politique célèbre, ancien musicien de rock et étudiant en musique classique. Cet homme possède autant de facettes qu’il y a de textures dans sa musique fractale, complexe et absolument remarquable. »

Amnesia Scanner (DE) - AV show
On en sait peu sur ce duo qui s’entoure de mystère. Sa musique, composée sur ordinateur, est un mélange à la fois complexe et euphorique de sonorités analogues étranges aux origines inconnues. Les visuels qui l’accompagnent transmettent la même émotion de perte et de bien-être. Nous savons que le duo est affilié au collectif berlinois Janus (Lotic, M.E.S.H., Kablam), qu’il a participé au titre An Exit sur Platform de Holly Herndon et qu’il a produit un titre très intéressant de Mykki Blanco. Notre curiosité est piquée à vif !

Goat (JAP)
En guise de parallèle musical à notre exposition consacrée à l’avant-garde japonaise, nous vous invitons à découvrir le quatuor japonais Goat. Fondé autour d’Hino, l’un des musiciens du célèbre Boredoms, ce groupe a suscité l’étonnement aux quatre coins du monde. Avec un line-up classique composé d’une batterie, d’une guitare, d’une basse et d’un saxophone, Goat propose une approche énergique et ultra précise de la techno minimaliste, sans recourir à l’électronique. Et bien plus encore.

Hiele (B)
La musique de Hiele est difficile à décrire, mais trouve ses racines dans l’électronique et dans une obsession de longue date pour la création sonore de synthèse et les études de jazz. Sur scène, Hiele défie les attentes du public en allant toujours au-delà des conventions et en mélangeant des éléments improvisés et classiques pour créer un idiome hautement personnel.Hiele a sorti sa musique sur son propre label anversois, Ekster, et a collaboré, sous le pseudonyme Roman Hiele, avec les secteurs de la mode, du film documentaire, du théâtre et de la production artistique. Décidément, voilà un artiste à suivre et à ne pas perdre de vue !