27

There are some big changes in the history of the prestigious, biennial art prize: henceforth ‘The Young Belgian Art Prize’ – the non-profit organisation which has organised the prize since 1950 in collaboration with the Centre for Fine Arts – is putting all its energy into supporting prominent artists who have already launched or built up a promising career. Belgian candidates – or candidates that have been living in Belgium for at least one year – no longer have to submit a dossier but are nominated by experts who are keen to place the spotlight on the artistic practice of talented artists.

For the 2017 edition of the BelgianArtPrize the jury selected Edith Dekyndt, the duo Simona Denicolai & Ivo Provoost, Otobong Nkanga and Maarten Vanden Eynde. Their latest works will be on display in the Centre for Fine Arts from 17 March till 28 May 2017. On 19 April the winner will be revealed when the international jury presents the BelgianArtPrize, worth a whopping 25,000 euros.

Between 17 March and 18 April 2017 you can vote for your favourite artist and help us to decide who will be awarded the ING Public Prize – worth 10,000 euros – at the prize giving ceremony.

The jury which selected the four finalists:
Denis Gielen (director of MAC’s), Dirk Snauwaert (artistic director of WIELS), Phillip Van den Bossche (director of Mu.ZEE), Philippe Van Cauteren (artistic director of S.M.A.K.), Gaël Van Lierde-Diercxsens (art collector, curator and art advisor), Frédéric de Goldschmidt (art collector and patron), Tanguy Van Quickenborne (entrepreneur and art collector).

The international jury which selected the winner of the BelgianArtPrize:
Beatrix Ruf (director of the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam), Hans Ulrich Obrist (artistic director Serpentine Galleries, London), Dieter Roelstraete (co-curator Documenta 14), Mimi Dusselier (art collector), Estelle Francès Lasserre (art historian and cultural manager, founder and director of the Fondation d’Entreprise Francès).

Did you know?

  • Make the most of the new Spring Pass

    For just 30 euros you can visit the exhibitions Pol Bury. Time in Motion, Yves Klein. Theatre of the Void, Malta. Land of Sea and BelgianArtPrize2017 whenever you want (please note that the exhibitions have different closing dates), until 20 August 2017. This Spring pass is on sale till 28 May 2017. Interested?

    read more
    — published on
  • © Yannick Sas

    Otobong Nkanga wins the BelgianArtPrize 2017

    The most important and historic award for contemporary art in Belgium goes to Otobong Nkanga. The artist’s delicate works on transformation processes referring to changes in our society won over the international jury. Alongside the Belgian Art Prize exhibition in Brussels, Otobong Nkanga’s work is currently also on view at Contour in Mechelen and Documenta 14 in Kassel and Athens. 

    read more
    — published on

Previously

25

Changements de taille dans l’histoire de ce prestigieux Prix d’art biennal: l’association « La Jeune Peinture Belge », l’asbl qui organise ce prix depuis 1950 en partenariat avec Le Palais des Beaux-Arts, soutient désormais résolument des artistes de premier plan qui se sont déjà lancés dans une carrière prometteuse ou ont déjà un beau parcours à leur actif.  Les candidats belges – ou qui vivent depuis au moins un an en Belgique  – ne doivent plus soumettre un dossier mais sont proposés par des experts qui souhaitent mettre en avant la pratique artistique d’artistes prometteurs. 

Pour l’édition 2017 du BelgianArtPrize, le jury a sélectionné Edith Dekyndt, le duo Simona Denicolai & Ivo Provoost, Otobong Nkanga et Maarten Vanden Eynde. Ils exposeront leurs œuvres récentes au Palais des Beaux-Arts du 17 mars au 28 mai. Le 19 avril, le jury international remettra le BelgianArtPrize d’une valeur de 25 000 euros. Vous connaîtrez alors le nom du gagnant.  

Du 17 mars au 18 avril, votez pour votre artiste favori et décidez ainsi qui recevra l’ING Public Prize d’une valeur de 10 000 euros lors de la remise des prix.  

Composition du jury ayant sélectionné les quatre
finalistes :
Denis Gielen (directeur du MAC’s), Dirk Snauwaert (directeur artistique du WIELS), Phillip Van den Bossche (directeur du Mu.ZEE), Philippe Van Cauteren (directeur artistique du S.M.A.K.), Gaël Van Lierde-Diercxsens (collectionneur, commissaire et conseiller artistique), Frédéric de Goldschmidt (collectionneur et mécène), Tanguy Van Quickenborne (entrepreneur et collectionneur)

Composition du jury international ayant sélectionné le lauréat du BelgianArtPrize :
Beatrix Ruf (directrice du Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam), Hans Ulrich Obrist (directeur artistique des Serpentine Galleries, Londres), Dieter Roelstraete (co-commissaire Documenta 14), Mimi Dusselier (collectionneuse), Estelle Francès Lasserre (historienne de l’art et directrice culturelle, fondatrice et directrice de la Fondation d’Entreprise Francès).

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Profitez de notre nouveau pass du printemps

    Pour 30 euros à peine, vous pourrez visiter les expositions Pol Bury. Time in Motion, Yves Klein. Theatre of the Void, Malta. Land of Sea et BelgianArtPrize2017 quand vous le souhaiterez (attention, veuillez tenir compte des différentes dates de fermeture des expos), jusqu’au 20 août 2017. Le pass est en vente jusqu’au 28 mai 2017. Cela vous intéresse ?

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • © Yannick Sas

    Otobong Nkanga remporte le BelgianArtPrize 2017

    Le prix d’art contemporain le plus important et le plus ancien de Belgique a été attribué à Otobong Nkanga. Ses œuvres délicates, qui illustrent des processus de transformation et font référence aux changements qui touchent notre société, ont convaincu le jury international. Otobong Nkanga expose ses œuvres en ce moment aussi à Contour (Malines) et Documenta 14 (Cassel et Athènes). 

    lire la suite
    — publié le

Précédemment