22

Following exhibitions at the KIOSK in Ghent  (2013) and the Kunsthalle in Basel (2015), this summer  Vincent Meessen will be revealing the third version of Patterns for (Re)cognition at BOZAR. In this exhibition-in--exhibition, the artist looks at a gap in the modern art historiography of Belgium and the Congo. Acting as artist and curator he creates a unique context with modular structures, 16 millimetre films, 19th century objects and a sound installation. Together these serve to frame the abstract watercolours of Tshela tendu (Congo, circa 1880-1950) within the modernist heritage. Although this Congolese painter exhibited in Brussels, Paris, Rome and Geneva in the early 1930s, his work was subsequently and unjustifiably forgotten. Focusing on the abstract work of this Congolese pioneer, this exhibition contributes to the renewed interest Tshela tendu’s work enjoys progressively in Europe.

Did you know?

  • Make the most of your visit with the Summer Pass!

    For just 22 euros you can visit the exhibitions YO. Brussels Hip-Hop GenerationsYves Klein. Theatre of the Void, Brussels is a Plaizier and Tshela tendu & Vincent Meessen. Patterns for (Re)cognition whenever you want (please note that the exhibitions have different closing dates), until 17 Semptember 2017. This Summer Pass is on sale till 20 August 2017. Interested?

    read more
    — published on
  • © Frederik Vercruysse

    Enjoy a drink at BOZAR CAFÉ VICTOR!

    With your ticket BOZAR EXPO, get a voucher for a free drink at BOZAR CAFÉ VICTOR. The voucher entitles you to a free coffee when you order a pastry of the day, or a free glass of wine when you order a main meal.*

    read more
    — published on

20

Après voir exposé à KIOSK à Gand (2013) et à la Kunsthalle Basel (2015), Vincent Meessen dévoile cet été la troisième version de Patterns for (Re)cognition à BOZAR. Dans cette expo-dans-l’expo, l’artiste se penche sur une lacune de l’historiographie de l’art moderne en Belgique et au Congo. En tant qu’artiste et commissaire, il crée un dispositif composé de structures modulaires, de films 16 mm, d'objets rituels et d’une installation sonore. Tous ces éléments replacent les aquarelles abstraites de Tshela tendu (Congo, vers 1880-1950) dans un patrimoine moderniste élargi et partagé. Bien que ce peintre congolais ait été exposé à Bruxelles, Paris, Rome et Genève au début des années 30, son œuvre est, à tort, tombée dans l’oubli. En se focalisant sur l’œuvre abstraite de ce pionnier congolais, cette exposition contribue au regain d’intérêt dont Tshela tendu jouit progressivement en Europe.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Profitez de l'été grâce à notre Summer Pass

    Pour 22 euros à peine, vous pourrez visiter les expositions YO. Brussels Hip-Hop GenerationsYves Klein. Le Théâtre du Vide, Bruxelles est un Plaizier et Tshela tendu & Vincent Meessen. Patterns for (Re)cognition quand vous le souhaiterez (attention, veuillez tenir compte des différentes dates de fermeture des expos), jusqu’au 17 septembre 2017. Le pass est en vente jusqu’au 20 août 2017. Cela vous intéresse ?

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • © Frederik Vercruysse

    Profitez d’un verre au BOZAR CAFÉ VICTOR !

    Avec votre ticket BOZAR EXPO, recevez un bon pour une boisson gratuite au BOZAR CAFÉ VICTOR. Le bon donne droit à un café gratuit à l’achat d’une pâtisserie du jour ou à un verre de vin à l’achat d’un plat.*

    lire la suite
    — publié le