13

For the Dag van de Dans (Day of Dance) BOZAR asked the Brussels dance company Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods to put a programme of her cinematic work together. The American choreographer and dancer Meg Stuart often works with visual artists and filmmakers. They created cinematic reinterpretations of choreographic works (Meg Stuart’s Alibi (2001) by Maarten Vanden Abeele, the invited (2003) by Jonathan Inksetter and Inflamável (2016) by Stephane Leonard) and video installations (The Only Possible City (2008, for Manifesta7)). On Saturday 29 April all of them will be on view in the Centre for Fine Arts.


Meg Stuart’s Alibi (2001) – 24 mins
The Belgian photographer Maarten Vanden Abeele made a personal impression of Meg Stuarts work Alibi (2001) and reworked this footage into a reflection on dance, movement, word and image. You find out how Meg Stuart uses the performance Alibi to create a theatrical environment in which she confronts physical and virtual reality.

the invited (2003) – 12 mins
The film the invited by the Canadian artist Jonathan Inksetter demonstrates his personal, visual interpretation of a specific scene from the performance Visitors Only (2003) by Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods. The characters in Visitors Only don’t have a memory. Their perception is distorted, broken up into visions and transient information. Their body is a sort of radio transmitter and receiver for fragments, gestures, image, energy and sound signals: a zone of transition somewhere between dream and reality.

Inflamável (2016) – 16 min BELGIAN PREMIERE
Along with costume designer Jean-Paul Lespagnard and performers Vânia Rovisco and Márcio Kerber Canabarro, in Inflamável Meg Stuart plays around with images of fame, risk and vulnerability. Two bodies wend their way through an apocalyptic landscape, a duet on the border between pride and loss, success and decline, disillusion and the lure of the unattainable. Stephane Leonard filmed the performance in an empty auditorium and accentuated the intense intimacy and cool tension.

The Only Possible City (2008) BELGIAN PREMIERE
The face is at once the irreparable being-exposed of humans and the very opening in which they hide and stay hidden. The face is the only location of community, the only possible city.” - Giorgio Agamben
Upon the invitation of Manifesta7 in Bolzano, Italy, Meg Stuart made the video installation, The Only Possible City, inspired by face-to-face videos by the American artist Vito Acconci. There you discover time capsules of compressed existence, built up around simple actions and relations.

26

Pour la Dag van de Dans (Journée de la danse), BOZAR a demandé à la compagnie de danse bruxelloise Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods de composer un programme autour de son travail filmique. Meg Stuart, chorégraphe et danseuse américaine, collabore souvent avec des artistes plasticiens et des réalisateurs. Outre quelques longs métrages, elle a créé des réinterprétations filmiques d’œuvres chorégraphiques (Meg Stuart’s Alibi (2001) par Maarten Vanden Abeele, the invited (2003) par Jonathan Inksetter et Inflamável (2016) par Stephane Leonard) ainsi que des installations vidéos (The Only Possible City (2008, pour Manifesta7)). Ces deux dernières œuvres seront projetées en première belge le samedi 29 avril au Palais des Beaux-Arts.

 

Meg Stuart’s Alibi (2001) – 24 min.
Le photographe belge Maarten Vanden Abeele a capturé dans son objectif l’œuvre de Meg Stuart Alibi (2001) et a retravaillé ces images en une réflexion sur la danse, le mouvement, la parole et l’image. Vous découvrirez comment Meg Stuart crée un environnement théâtral dans lequel réalité physique et virtuelle se confrontent.

the invited (2003) – 12 min
Le film the invited de l’artiste canadien Jonathan Inksetter montre son interprétation personnelle et visuelle d’une scène spécifique du spectacle Visitors Only (2003) de Meg Stuart. Les personnages de Visitors Only sont dépourvus de mémoire. Leur perception de la réalité est troublée et décomposée en visions et informations éphémères. Leur corps n’est plus qu’une sorte d’émetteur et de récepteur de fragments, de gestes, de signaux visuels, énergétiques et acoustiques : une zone de transition où rêve et réalité s’entremêlent.

Inflamável  (2016) – 16 min PREMIÈRE BELGE
Dans Inflamável, Meg Stuart joue, en compagnie du créateur de costumes Jean-Paul Lespagnard et des danseurs Vânia Rovisco et Márcio Kerber Canabarro, avec des images évoquant la célébrité, le risque et la vulnérabilité. Deux corps se tortillent à travers un paysage apocalyptique, un duo à la frontière de la fierté et de la perte, de la réussite et du déclin, de la désillusion et de la quête de l’insaisissable. Stephane Leonard a filmé la performance dans une salle vide, accentuant ainsi l’intimité intense et la tension froide.

The Only Possible City (2008) PREMIÈRE BELGE
« The face is at once the irreparable being-exposed of humans and the very opening in which they hide and stay hidden. The face is the only location of community, the only possible city. » - Giorgio Agamben
À la demande de Manifesta7 à Bolzano, en Italie, Meg Stuart a réalisé l’installation vidéo The Only Possible City, qui s’inspire des vidéos en face à face de l’artiste américain Vito Acconci. Vous découvrirez des capsules temporelles de présence comprimée, construites autour d’actions simples et de relations.