20

Winner of “Evening Experience of the Year” at the Visit Brussels Awards 2016.
Nominated for “Best Festival” at the Red Bull Elektropedia Awards 2016.

 

For the sixth time now, the multidisciplinary BOZAR Electronic Arts Festival (BEAF) will occupy every corner of the Centre for Fine Arts. Over several days this festival presents the broadest possible view of the electronic arts, at the cutting edge of art and technology.

The festival has a minimalist Oscar nominee and Golden Globe winner as its musical headliner, in the shape of Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer of soundtracks for, among other films, Arrival and the new Blade Runner. During this long and particularly eclectic music weekend (26 to 30.09) the highly versatile Australian Ben Frost presents his new album and American composer William Basinski offers the Belgian premier of his emotional tribute to David Bowie. Producer and shoegazer Pantha du Prince puts on an exclusive show, and the Japanese queen of avant-garde, Phew, plays a new album after 20 years. Among the performances in the impressive Horta Hall will be SpaceTime Helix, for which artist Michela Pelusio designed and made her own opto-acoustic instrument.

The winners of the international innovation competition, STARTS Prize 2017, unveil their winning installations, and six Belgian women artists tackle science and technology in the Tendencies exhibition.The FEAT exhibition features six works by artists who leave their comfort zone to participate in collaborative scientific research, tackling diverse problems from carbon capture to monitoring pollution.

Estonia, one of Europe’s digital pioneers, takes over the European Presidency and, alongside state of the art cyber theatre from Demultiplexia (on 14.09), gives us a selection of astonishing digital video art in The Archaeology of the Screen. The Estonian Example, an exhibition which will inaugurate BOZAR Lab, BOZAR’s brand new exhibition space for media art . All exhibitions are free of charge and run from 14.09 to 30.09.

Ongoing and forthcoming

18

Elu « Evening Experience » de l’année aux Visit Brussels Awards 2016.
Nominé dans la catégorie « Best Festival » aux Red Bull Elektropedia Awards 2016.

 

Le BOZAR Electronic Arts Festival (BEAF) investit le Palais des Beaux-Arts pour la sixième fois. Plusieurs jours durant, ce festival pluridisciplinaire vous offre un aperçu le plus large possible des arts électroniques, à la croisée des chemins entre art et technologie.

La tête d’affiche du programme musical du festival n’est autre que le compositeur minimaliste Jóhann Jóhannsson, déjà récompensé par un Golden Globe et nominé plusieurs fois aux Oscars, auteur notamment des bandes originales de Premier Contact et du nouveau Blade Runner. Durant le long week-end musical (du 26 au 30.09), particulièrement éclectique, l’artiste australien aux multiples talents Ben Frost viendra présenter son nouvel album et le public découvrira en première belge l’hommage émouvant du compositeur américain William Basinski à David Bowie. Le producteur et shoegazer Pantha du Prince donnera un concert exclusif et la reine de l’avant-garde japonaise Phew nous reviendra avec un nouvel album, 20 ans après la sortie du dernier. Parmi les performances dans le magnifique Hall Horta figurera SpaceTime Helix, pour laquelle l’artiste Michela Pelusio a confectionné un instrument opto-acoustique.

Les lauréats du concours international d’innovation STARTS Prize 2017 dévoileront leurs installations et six artistes belges féminines aborderont la technologie et la science dans le cadre de l’exposition Tendencies.Les six œuvres présentées dans le cadre de l’expo FEAT sont le résultat d’un projet de recherche scientifique collaboratif qui invite les artistes à sortir de leur zone de confort pour résoudre différents problèmes, du captage du carbone au suivi de la pollution.

L’Estonie, pays pionnier dans le secteur du numérique en Europe, assurera la présidence du Conseil de l’Union européenne et présentera, en plus du cyberthéâtre de pointe Demultiplexia (le 14.09), une sélection éblouissante d’art vidéo numérique dans The Archaeology of the Screen. The Estonian Example, une exposition qui verra aussi l’inauguration du BOZAR Lab, le tout nouvel espace de BOZAR dédié à l’art médiatique. Toutes les expositions sont gratuites et se déroulent du 14.09 au 30.09.

Précédemment