23

The meeting of science, technology and the arts (STARTS) is the favoured basis for the innovation necessary if we are to combat the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future. The STARTS Prize, an initiative of the European Commission taken up by Ars Electronica in cooperation with BOZAR and Waag Society, rewards projects that bring significant progress in this field, acknowledging on the one hand a work of art that changes the perception of technology and on the other a creation that combines innovative forms of cooperation between the private sector and the world of culture.  


For this second edition, "I’m Humanity" by Etsuko Yakushimaru won the Grand Prize for Artistic Exploration. The Japanese singer has composed a work in which musical information was converted into genetic information. This was then incorporated into the chromosomes of blue algae, thereby permitting its cross-generational transmission.  If the human race were to disappear and algae survive, a future species would be able to listen to our music that is literally embedded in the genetic memory of these cyanobacteria.  
"Rock Print" from the ETH–Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Zurich and the Self-Assembly Lab of MIT was awarded the Grand Prize for Innovative Collaboration. This prefigures the future progress of 3D printing in the field of architecture, generating a more efficient exploration of raw materials, a better design and lower costs than its predecessors.

 
These two works and a selection of projects that received a special nomination or mention at the STARTS PRIZE will be exhibited at the Centre for Fine Arts as part of the BOZAR Electronic Arts Festival (BEAF). 

 

With the participation of :

 

Etsuko Yakushimaru - "l’m Humanity"
Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich, and Self-Assembly Lab, MIT "Rock Print"
John Edmark "Blooms 2"
MIT Media Lab in collaboration with Microsoft Research "DuoSkin"
Marcus Maeder & Roman Zweifel "Treelab"
Marcha Schagen & Leon Baauw "Project KOVR"

And more ...

18

La rencontre entre la science, la technologie et les arts (STARTS) constitue le foyer privilégié de l’innovation nécessaire à la maîtrise des défis sociaux, écologiques et économiques que l’Europe devra relever dans un avenir proche. Le STARTS Prize, une initiative de la Commission européenne, relayée par  Ars Electronica en collaboration avec BOZAR et Waag Society, récompense les projets porteurs d’avancées significatives en la matière, distinguant d’une part une œuvre d’art modifiant la perception de la technologie et d’autre part une création qui agrège des formes innovantes de collaboration entre le secteur privé et le monde de la culture. 


Pour cette seconde édition, « I’m Humanity » d’Etsuko Yakushimaru a remporté le Grand Prize for Artistic Exploration. La chanteuse japonaise a composé une œuvre dont l’information musicale a été convertie en information génétique. Celle-ci fut incorporée dans les chromosomes d’algues bleues, permettant ainsi sa transmission intergénérationnelle. Si la race humaine venait à s’éteindre et les algues survivaient, une prochaine espèce pourrait alors écouter notre musique littéralement enfouie dans la mémoire génétique de ces cyanobactéries.


« Rock Print » du ETH–Swiss Federal Institute of Technology de Zurich et du Self-Assembly Lab de MIT a quant à lui été couronné du Grand Prize for Innovative Collaboration. Il préfigure des progrès de l’imprimante 3D du futur dans le domaine l’architecture, générant une exploitation plus efficiente des matières premières, un  meilleur design et des coûts moins élevés que ses prédécesseurs. 


Ces deux œuvres ainsi qu’une sélection de projets ayant obtenu des mentions et des nominations spéciales au STARTS PRIZE sont exposées au Palais des Beaux-Arts dans le cadre du BOZAR Electronic Arts Festival (BEAF).

 

Avec la participation de :

 

Etsuko Yakushimaru "l’m Humanity"
Gramazio Kohler Research, ETH Zurich, and Self-Assembly Lab, MIT "Rock Print"
John Edmark "Blooms 2"
MIT Media Lab in collaboration with Microsoft Research "DuoSkin"
Marcus Maeder & Roman Zweifel "Treelab"
Marcha Schagen & Leon Baauw "Project KOVR" 

Et plus ...