20

The international programme of the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the EU and Estonia 100 highlights balance between nature and technology by bringing together the best Estonian talents from different fields. Discover Estonian contemporary art and architecture, feel the deep passion in Arvo Pärt’s music and enjoy the musical masterpieces conducted by world famous Paavo Järvi.
Estonia is the smallest and most northern of the Baltic countries in the north-east of Europe. With a population of 1.3 million on an area 1.5 times the size of Belgium, Estonia is one of the least densely populated countries in Europe. Nature is all around: woods, swamps, rivers, and an almost 3800 km long coastline along the Baltic Sea.
Next to traditions, progress and innovation are as important for Estonia. Today it has one of the most digitised economies in Europe, and a wide range of secure internet-based governmental services. 
The aim of finding balance and synergy between the natural and man-made, old and new, is Estonia’s unfolding story. At the root of things is the connection with pristine nature, at the top is a story of future and possibility through new technology and ways of living.

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

21

Le programme international de la Présidence estonienne du Conseil de l’Union européenne et d’Estonia 100 entend souligner l’équilibre entre la nature et la technologie en rassemblant les meilleurs talents estoniens issus de diverses sphères. Plongez dans l’architecture et l’art contemporains estoniens, vivez la passion profonde de la musique d’Arvo Pärt et laissez-vous emporter par les splendides compositions dirigées par le grand chef d’orchestre Paavo Järvi.
L’Estonie est le plus petit – et le plus septentrional  –des pays baltes, dans le nord-est de l’Europe. Avec 1,3 million d’habitants et une superficie équivalente à 1,5 fois celle de la Belgique, l’Estonie fait partie des pays les moins densément peuplés d’Europe. La nature y est omniprésente : elle se compose de bois, de marais, de rivières et d’un littoral de pratiquement 3.800 km qui longe la mer Baltique. 
Même si l’Estonie est un pays de traditions, elle accorde une grande importance au progrès et à l’innovation et possède aujourd’hui l’une des économies les plus numérisées d’Europe avec un vaste éventail de services publics sécurisés sur Internet.
La recherche d’un équilibre et d’une synergie entre le naturel et l’artificiel, entre le neuf et l’ancien, fait partie intégrante de l’histoire de l’Estonie. À l’origine, on retrouve une relation étroite avec la nature primitive qui se conjugue aujourd’hui à des perspectives d’avenir par le biais des nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux modes de vie.

En cours et à venir

Précédemment