24

Following a successful first edition Next Generation, Please! is back with a bang! This year the project sets out from the same point of departure: bringing together young people, artists and politicians to write a new chapter in the European story. How does this generation see Europe? Does it have enough faith in the European story or has the existential crisis of the union dealt a fatal blow to the European dream?

This school year ten projects have been selected. Each project consists of a partner organisation, a group of young people and an artist who spend a year together on a political-artistic journey. The result (performance, installation, photography, video) is on display during a dynamic festival that runs from 9 till 13 May 2018 in BOZAR. In addition, there are two debates in which young people, artists and political experts can enter into dialogue about the political, social and economic challenges Europe is faced with. Guaranteed food for thought!


Who does what?

  1. The British-Jamaican poetess and performer Sukina Douglas is bringing together young people from KA Etterbeek and a Chicago youth club to focus on sensitive issues relating to diversity, social justice, taboos and stereotypes. 
  2. The Belgo-Dutch grassroots citizens association Black Speaks Back and its participants will be questioning notions of a homogenous Europe with an investigation into "Afropean" identity. How do people with African roots regard European citizenship? In an Afro-futuristic musical they seek to answer questions from their past, present and future. 
  3. On the basis of an investigation into border identities, students from the IHECS explore the various links established in border areas. They will be working with the artist Lou Vernin and participants in the three TESIM programmes on Europe's external borders. The ultimate question: What connects people separated by a border? 
  4. Students from years 5 and 6 in the humanities and social sciences at the Emanuel Hiel Koninklijk Athenium team up with the filmmaker Leni Huyghe to investigate the power of rhetoric. In their own speech they set out their vision for Europe's future. What do they have to say about their role in the European story? 
  5. With the ’68-18’ project artists Tine Guns, Jim Maes, Julie Bougard and Florence Aignier challenge students from Onze-Lieve-Vrouwe-Instituut in Ghent and the Institut Cartigny in Ixelles to reflect on present systems of government. With the protest movements of the 1960s as point of departure, they take a contemporary look at the obstacles in our democracy.   
  6. The Omar Khayam Centre is bringing together young people from the districts of Fontainas, Porte de Hal and Gare de Midi for a series of creative workshops in which they will reflect on identities, migratory routes, protest and revolution. At their "Agora des Idées” they will be sharing their vision of the issues facing society with the spectator. 
  7. With the ‘EUtopia’ project the artist Nayra Martin Reyes is working with pupils from the art department of the Anderlecht Antheneum. A project that seeks to create a new, ideal Europe. What form would such a community take? On what values and norms are they building the new society? And what does this tell us about the society we live in today?
  8. Recognition (Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva) will work together with Zinneke en Zinnema. In their project Apparition they will create an individual and collective body of work with a group of young women, under the artistic direction of Laura Nsengiyumva and Johanna Couvée. The project hopes to bring a change in the current exclusive discourse on migration by having multiple voices and new European identities appear. Inclusive is the key word.
  9. The Institut Sainte-Marie in St Gilles and the Lycée Rodin in Paris are engaging in close cooperation. Various cultures and ways of thinking come together to build a common project, thanks to rather than in spite of these differences. The artist Vincent Glowinski and the choreographer K. will be accompanying the young people. 
  10. In this unique project known as "Connecting Capitals - Global Citizenship" we will be building bridges between the deaf communities in Belgium and the United States. From an intersectional perspective, with respect for all the various layers that make up an identity, deaf citizens take a look at their respective cultural heritage. How does the interaction between democracy, nation, regionality and deaf culture operate? Click here for more information.

Political ambassador: Hendrik Vos (Ugent)
Artistic ambassador: Vincent Glowinski

Participating organizations:
MUS-E Belgium, De Pianofabriek, KVS, Destelheide, Instituto Cervantes, Black Speaks Back, IHECS, TESIM, Centre Omar Khayam, Recognition, Zinneke, Zinnema, Muntpunt, Cinema Galeries, Doof en Jong Vlaanderen
Participating schools and youth organizations:
KA Etterbeek, Institut Cartigny, Onze-Lieve-Vrouwe-Instituut Gent, IHECS, KA Emanuel Hiel, Institut Sainte-Marie, Lycée Rodin Paris, Kasterlinden, Jeugdhuis Chicago
Participating artists:
Christopher Daley, Emanual Owusu Bonsu, Jim Maes, Johanna Couvée, Julie Bougard, Laura Nsengiyumva, Leni Huyghe, Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva, Lou Vernin, Nayra Reyes Martin, Sukina Douglas, Susu Amina, Tine Guns, Vincent Glowinski, Florence Aignier 

Did you know?

  • © Yiqiao Wang

    Connecting Capitals. Call for participation

    Connecting Capitals: The Intersectionality** of US/Belgium Deaf Heritages and Global Citizenship will enlarge the scope of the Next Generation, Please! project to the transatlantic level at a time when the challenges confronting the world in general, and democracy in particular, are truly global.

    read more
    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

18

Après une première édition couronnée de succès, Next Generation, Please! revient en force ! Le projet repose sur le même principe : réunir des jeunes, des artistes et des responsables politiques pour écrire une nouvelle page de l’histoire européenne. Comment cette génération considère-t-elle l’Europe ? Lui fait-elle encore confiance ou la crise existentielle de l’Union a-t-elle porté un coup fatal au rêve européen ?

Pour cette année scolaire, dix projets ont été sélectionnés. Chacun est porté par une organisation partenaire, un groupe de jeunes et un artiste qui accompliront ensemble pendant un an un parcours politico-artistique. Le résultat (performance, installation, photographie, vidéo) sera présenté lors d’un festival dynamique du 9 au 13 mai 2018 à BOZAR. En outre, deux débats sont aussi prévus, durant lesquels jeunes, artistes et experts en politique discuteront des défis politiques, sociaux et économiques qui attendent l’Europe. Matière à réflexion garantie !


Qui fait quoi ?

  1. Lors de ses ateliers de poésie, la poétesse et performeuse britanno-jamaïcaine Sukina Douglas réunit des jeunes de la KA Etterbeek et de la maison de jeunes Chicago pour aborder des thèmes sensibles autour de la diversité, de la justice sociale, des tabous et des stéréotypes.
  2. Le mouvement citoyen belgo-néerlandais Black Speaks Back souhaite, avec ses participants, démonter l’idée d’une Europe homogène à travers ses recherches sur les identités « afropéennes ». Comment les personnes ayant des racines africaines envisagent-elles la citoyenneté européenne ? Ils tentent de répondre à des questions tournées vers le passé, le présent et l’avenir dans une comédie musicale afro-futuriste.
  3. À partir d’une recherche sur les identités frontalières, des élèves de l’IHECS explorent les différents liens qui se forgent dans les régions frontalières. Ils se consacrent, avec l’artiste Lou Vernin et des participants, à trois programmes de TESIM sur les frontières extérieures de l’Europe. La question ultime est celle-ci : qu’est-ce qui lie les personnes qui sont séparées par une frontière ?
  4. Les élèves de 5e et 6e années, option sciences humaines, de la Koninklijk Atheneum Emanuel Hiel se penchent avec la cinéaste Leni Huyghe sur le pouvoir de la rhétorique. Avec leurs propres mots, ils présentent leur vision de l’avenir de l’Europe. Qu’ont-ils à dire de leur place dans le récit européen ?
  5. Avec le projet « 68-18 », les artistes Tine Guns, Jim Maes, Julie Bougard et Florence Aignier invitent les élèves du Onze-Lieve-Vrouwe-Instituut de Gand et de l’Institut Cartigny à Ixelles à réfléchir aux systèmes dominants actuels. Ils posent un regard moderne sur les obstacles à la démocratie en prenant pour point de départ les révoltes des années 60.
  6. Le Centre Omar Khayam réunit des jeunes des quartiers autour de Fontainas, la Porte de Hal et la gare du Midi, à Bruxelles, pour réfléchir à travers une série d’ateliers créatifs aux identités partagées, aux parcours migratoires, à la contestation et à la révolution. Dans leur « Agora des Idées », ils partagent avec le spectateur leur vision en abordant des thèmes sociaux.
  7. Dans le cadre du projet « EUtopia », l’artiste Nayra Martin Reyes accompagne des élèves de la section artistique de l’Atheneum Anderlecht. Avec « EUtopia », ils essayent de créer une Europe nouvelle et idéale. À quoi ressemble cette communauté ? Sur quelles valeurs et normes cette nouvelle société est-elle fondée ? Et que cela nous apprend-il sur la société dans laquelle nous vivons ?
  8. Recognition (Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva) travaille avec Zinneke et Zinnema. A travers le projet Apparition, un corps de jeunes femmes se formera sous la direction artistique de Laura Nsengiyumva et Johanna Couvée. Ce projet a l'ambition d'amener un changement dans les discours exclusifs sur l'immigration en y ajoutant des voix et identités européennes multiples. L’inclusion est ici le mot clé.
  9. L’Institut Sainte-Marie à Saint-Gilles et le Lycée Rodin à Paris se lancent dans une intense collaboration. Diverses cultures et façons de penser sont réunies en vue de développer un projet commun, grâce aux différences – et non malgré elles. L’artiste Vincent Glowinski et le chorégraphe K. accompagnent les jeunes.
  10. Dans le cadre de ce projet unique, et avec pour titre « Connecting Capitals - Global Citizenship », nous allons jeter des ponts entre la communauté des sourds et malentendants de Belgique et des États-Unis. Dans une perspective intersectionnelle, et dans le respect de toutes les composantes qui constituent une identité, les citoyens sourds examinent leur patrimoine culturel spécifique. Comment fonctionnent les interactions entre la démocratie, la nation, les régions et la culture les sourds ? Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

Parrain politique : Hendrik Vos (UGent)
Parrain artistique : Vincent Glowinski

Organisations participantes :
MUS-E Belgium, De Pianofabriek, KVS, Destelheide, Instituto Cervantes, Black Speaks Back, IHECS, TESIM, Centre Omar Khayam, Recognition, Zinneke, Zinnema, Muntpunt, Cinema Galeries, Doof en Jong Vlaanderen
Écoles et organisations de jeunes participantes :
KA Etterbeek, Institut Cartigny, Onze-Lieve-Vrouwe-Instituut Gent, IHECS, KA Emanuel Hiel, Institut Sainte-Marie, Lycée Rodin Paris, Kasterlinden, Jeugdhuis Chicago, Institut Saint-Vincent-de-Paul
Artistes participants :
Christopher Daley, Emanual Owusu Bonsu, Jim Maes, Johanna Couvée, Julie Bougard, Laura Nsengiyumva, Leni Huyghe, Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva, Lou Vernin, Nayra Reyes Martin, Sukina Douglas, Susu Amina, Tine Guns, Vincent Glowinski, Florence Aignier

Le saviez-vous ?

  • © Yiqiao Wang

    Connecting Capitals. Appel à participation

    Connecting Capitals : The Intersectionality** of US/Belgium Deaf Heritages and Global Citizenship (L’intersectionnalité** du Patrimoine sourd et de la Citoyenneté mondiale entre les États-Unis et la Belgique) permettra d’élargir la portée du projet Next Generation, Please! au niveau transatlantique, à une époque où le monde en général, et la démocratie en particulier, doivent faire face à des défis qui concernent l’ensemble de la planète.

    lire la suite
    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment