12

Amir Nizar Zuabi artistic director, choice of texts – Khalifa Natour dramaturgy, actor – Henry Andrawes actor – Wael Wakeem actor – Amer Hlehel actor – Adeeb Safadi actor – Faraj Suleiman Musician – Samar Haddad King choreography – Muaz Jubeh light desing – Khawla Ibraheem production manager

In this story grief and cliché are combined as we follow a Palestinian family during the traditional three days of mourning. It is a fixed ritual of repetition and small human gestures, where the dramatic and the everyday collide in order to give some insight into the heart of a society. Spoken text and a male acapella choir weave a web of shared memories, daydreams, major discussions and minor reconciliations - because the dead must be honoured, but life also has to be lived.

Amir Nizar Zuabi is without doubt one of the most important directors from the Middle East. His very first performance in Ramallah was an immediate international success. He worked, amongst others, at the Young Vic Theatre and the Royal Shakespeare Company in Great Britain, and directed a controversial, openly political Samson and Delilah (2009) at the Flemish Opera. He founded the ShiberHur Theatre Company in 2008.

17

Amir Nizar Zuabi directeur artistique, choix textes – Khalifa Natour dramaturgie, acteur – Henry Andrawes comédien – Wael Wakeem comédien – Amer Hlehel comédien – Adeeb Safadi comédien – Faraj Suleiman Musicien – Samar Haddad King chorégraphie – Muaz Jubeh création lumières – Khawla Ibraheem chef de production

Rencontre entre la tristesse et le cliché. Nous suivons l’histoire d’une famille palestinienne au fil des trois jours de deuil traditionnels. Dans ce rituel rigide de répétitions et de petits gestes humains, le dramatique et le quotidien s’affrontent pour dévoiler les profondeurs d’une communauté. Le texte parlé et le chœur d’hommes a cappella tissent une toile de souvenirs partagés, de rêves éveillés, de grandes discussions et de petites réconciliations. Parce que les morts doivent être honorés, et parce que la vie doit être vécue.

Amir Nizar Zuabi est sans aucun doute l’un des plus importants metteurs en scène du Moyen-Orient. Sa première représentation à Ramallah lui a immédiatement valu un succès international. Il a notamment travaillé avec le Young Vic Theatre et la Royal Shakespeare Company en Grande-Bretagne. Il a mis en scène un Samson et Dalila (2009) controversé et ouvertement politique à l’Opéra flamand et fondé la ShiberHur Theatre Company en 2008.