18
Programme

I Gede Radiana Putra


BARIS DANCE - Gede Radiana Putra
Baris is the collective name for various forms of traditional martial dance from Bali. Accompanied by gamelan, it explores the range of emotions felt by a young warrior going into battle. His movements are first marked by fear and uncertainty, he then quickly regains self-confidence and achieves a resounding victory. Baris is a glorification of masculinity and the commanding presence of Balinese warriors.

THE RUMORS - Mugiyono Kasido
The Rumors observes with caustic humour the social, economic and political situation in Indonesia, marked by disorder, contradiction and uncertainty. Nothing seems to really stick. Everything we learn appears to be based on contradictory rumours of vague and dubious origin, which makes it almost impossible to understand the true situation. Mugiyono Kasido sees an analogy between society and the human body: both are composed of many elements, each with their own function and position. When harmony is disturbed, the whole body suffers, falls ill, and ends up dying in misery.

IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF THE BODY - Kurniadi Ilham
In In the Footsteps of the Body, the choreographer and dancer Sherli Novalinda fuses the movements and memories of her own body with those of the male dancer Kurniadi Ilham. This identity crossover is not only about gender, but also culture: Ilham, who specialises in Minangkabau traditional dance, interprets the typical dance movements of the Kerinci culture performed by Novalinda. Thus, they show how a body can transform itself and translate into another, regardless of cultural and historical antecedents.

G.H.U.L.U.R. - Moh. Hariyanto
Hariyanto
slams his body several times against heavy sheets of corrugated zinc. He does it aggressively, throwing himself into the air without seeming to care about where he lands. The metal trembles under the violence of the impact and the emanating sound is a symphony of indentations that envelop the soul of the dancer. Recalling the zinc roofs of rural houses in Indonesia, metal represents a symbolic surface from which Hariyanto tries to launch his aspirations.

12
Programme

I Gede Radiana Putra


BARIS DANCE - Gede Radiana Putra
Le baris est un nom regroupant plusieurs formes de danses martiales traditionnelles de Bali. Accompagné de gamelan, il explore toute la gamme d’émotions d’un jeune guerrier partant au combat. Si ses mouvements sont d’abord marqués par la peur et l’incertitude, il regagne rapidement confiance en soi et remporte une victoire éclatante. Le baris est une glorification de  la masculinité et la présence imposante des guerriers balinais.

THE RUMORS - Mugiyono Kasido
The Rumors observe avec un humour grinçant la situation sociale, économique et politique en Indonésie, marquée par le désordre, le contresens et l’incertitude. Rien n’a l’air de vraiment coller. Tout ce que l’on apprend semble être basé sur des rumeurs contradictoires, vagues et d’origine douteuse, ce qui rend presque impossible la compréhension de la situation réelle. Mugiyono Kasido voit une analogie entre la société et le corps : tous deux sont composés de nombreux éléments, chacun avec leurs propres fonctions et positions. Quand l’harmonie est rompue, c’est le corps tout entier qui en pâtit, tombe malade et finit par mourir dans la misère.

IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF THE BODY - Kurniadi Ilham
Dans In the Footsteps of the Body, la chorégraphe et danseuse Sherli Novalinda traduit les mouvements et souvenirs de son propre corps vers celui – masculin – du danseur Kurniadi Ilham. Ce croisement d’identité n’est pas uniquement sur le plan sexuel, mais également culturel : Ilham, spécialisé dans la danse traditionnelle des Minangkabau, interprète les mouvements typiques de la culture kerinci de Novalinda. Ainsi, ils montrent comment un corps peut se transformer et en traduire un autre, même si ceux-ci contiennent déjà leurs propres antécédents culturels et historiques.

G.H.U.L.U.R. - Moh. Hariyanto
Moh. Hariyanto
frappe à plusieurs reprises son corps contre de lourdes tôles de zinc ondulées. Il le fait de manière agressive, se lançant dans l'air sans paraître se préoccuper de l’atterrissage. Le métal tremble sous la violence des chocs, le son qui en jailli est une symphonie d'indentations qui couvrent l'âme du danseur. Rappelant les toits de zinc sur les maisons rurales en Indonésie, le métal représente une surface symbolique à partir de laquelle Hariyanto lance ses aspirations.