23

« Which lesson can we draw from the ambiguous adventure of the encounter of our people with those who imposed themselves through the force and violence of history? Or simply put,  which lesson is to be drawn from colonization?» This question was central to the renowned  novel by Cheikh Hamidou Kane, L’Aventure Ambigüe, published in 1961, and equally permeates in the passionate essay recently published by Hamidou Sall, L’Occident Ambigu.
Hamidou Sall is the nephew of Cheick Hamidou Kane, writer and poet form Senegal, and he pursues here the fundamental reflection started in the wave of the Independences of Africa. As spiritual son of Leopold Sedar Senghor and Aimé Césaire, he analyses the current decadence of the West and the redeeming role that Africa could play alongside the Old Continent.

​During this literary evening, Sall invites us to share his reflection and participate in an exchange with Congolese author In Koli Jean Bofane and Lilian Thuram , former football player and director of Fondation Lilian Thuram - Education contre le racisme. The actress Bwanga Pili Pili, accompanied by kora player Mamadou Dramé, will read some extracts of the book L’Occident ambigu.
The evening will be moderated by Elisabeth Tchoungui, French-Cameroonian journalist, producer and writer.

Hamidou Sall
Hamidou Sall has been for 12 years Special Councillor of the General Secretary de la Francophonie in Paris. He currently runs an European Foundation dedicated to the dialogue among Europe and Africa and to the promotion of culture and education.

In Koli Jean Bofane
Born in 1954 in the Democratic Republic of Congo and residing in Belgium, In-Koli Jean Bofane received numerous literary prizes. With the publication of his novel Mathématiques congolaises (ed. Actes Sud 2008) he became internationally well-known. In 2014 he publishes Congo Inc. - Le Testament de Bismarck which was awarded the Prix des 5 Continents de la Francophonie His works have been translated in the US, in Germany, in Brazil, in Korea and in Slovenia.

Élizabeth Tchoungui
Born Washington DC, USA, in 1974, Élizabeth Tchoungui is a writer, journalist and television presenter for the French television. She is currently director of the department of News, Arts, Music and Literature of France 24 channel. In 2010, she publishes Bamako Climax that won the Prize Orange du Livre.

Lilian Thuram
Born in Guadalupe in 1972, Lilian Thuram sought a prestigious career as an  international football player. He is World Champion in 1988 and European Champion in 2000. In 2008 at the age of 36, he puts an end to his professional sports career and he sets up the Fondation Lilian Thuram - Éducation contre le racisme. Since then, he has carried on several actions all over the world in order to fight racism and other forms of discrimination. Recently he was named Doctor Honoris Causa at the University of Stockholm.

24

« Quelle leçon tirer de l’aventure ambiguë de la rencontre de nos peuples avec ceux qui s’étaient imposés à eux par la force et la violence de l’histoire, en un mot quelle leçon retirer de la colonisation? » Cette question au cœur du célèbre roman de Cheikh Hamidou Kane, L’Aventure Ambigüe, paru en 1961, irrigue également le passionnant essai que vient de publier Hamidou Sall, L’Occident Ambigu.
Neveu de Cheikh Hamidou Kane, l’écrivain et poète sénégalais Hamidou Sall poursuit donc la réflexion fondamentale initiée au lendemain des indépendances africaines. Fils spirituel de Léopold Sedar Senghor et Aimé Césaire, il analyse l’actuelle décadence de l’Occident et le rôle salvateur que l’Afrique pourrait jouer auprès du Vieux Continent.
Lors de cette soirée littéraire, Sall nous invite à partager sa réflexion et nous convie à un échange de points de vue avec le romancier d’origine congolaise In Koli Jean Bofane et Lilian Thuram, ancien footballeur et président de la Fondation Lilian Thuram - Education contre le racisme. La comédienne Bwanga Pilipili,  accompagnée par le joueur de kora Mamadou Dramé, lira des extraits de L’Occident ambigu.
La soirée sera présentée et modérée par Elisabeth Tchoungui, journaliste, productrice et écrivaine franco-camerounaise.

Hamidou Sall
Hamidou Sall a publié auparavant Rhapsodies fluviales (2010) et Circonstances du cœur (2011). Après avoir été durant douze ans le Conseiller spécial du Secrétaire général de la Francophonie, Abdou Diouf, il dirige actuellement la Fondation George Arthur Forrest, dédiée au dialogue euro-africain et à la promotion de la culture et de l’éducation.

In Koli Jean Bofane
Né en 1954 en République Démocratique du Congo et résidant en Belgique, In-Koli Jean Bofane est lauréat de nombreux prix littéraires. Il connaît une renommée carrière internationale depuis la parution de son roman Mathématiques congolaises en 2008 (aux éditions Actes Sud). En 2014, il publie Congo Inc. - Le Testament de Bismarck qui reçoit notamment le Prix des 5 Continents de la Francophonie. Ses ouvrages ont été traduits aux USA, en Allemagne, au Brésil, en Corée et en Slovénie.

Élizabeth Tchoungui
Née en février 1974 à Washington DC, États-Unis, Élizabeth Tchoungui est une écrivaine, journaliste et animatrice de télévision francaise. Elle est aujourd’hui aux commandes de l’actualité des arts plastiques, de la musique et de la littérature sur France ô. En 2010, elle publie Bamako Climax qui reçoit notamment le Prix Orange du Livre.

Lilian Thuram
Né en Guadeloupe en 1972, Lilian Thuram a connu une carrière prestigieuse de footballeur international. Il est notamment champion du monde en 1998 et champion d’Europe en 2000. En 2008, âgé de 36 ans, il met un terme à sa carrière sportive et créé la Fondation Lilian Thuram - Éducation contre le racisme. Depuis, il mène de nombreuses actions à travers le monde pour lutter contre le racisme et d'autres formes de discrimination. Il vient d’être nommé Docteur Honoris Causa de l’Université de Stockholm. 

.