12

10.03.18 : Emptyset + Yves De Mey

12.01.18 : Drew McDowall + Lumisokea

 

BOZAR ELECTRONIC SERIES are intimate nights (200 seats) showcasing a wide range of cutting edge music blurring the borders of electronic, contemporary and experimental music.

 

Emptyset – AV performance (UK)

Emptyset are Paul Purgas and James Ginzburg. They created Subtext Recordings for their own output and for like-minded artists (Roly Porter, Paul Jebanasam, Yair Glotman, Fis …). The duo stands at the vanguard of electronic music. With each release, they stretch boundaries and explore new methods of creating sounds with scientific precision, focussing on structure, texture and rythm. They have released numerous albums on their own label and have also recorded for Thrill Jockey and Raster-Noton. They have created works and installations for the David Roberts Art Foundation, Spike Island, Tate Britain and the Architecture Foundation
They will perform a brand new set, following the release of their latest EP Skin and will be joined by audio-visual artist Sam Williams. Skin uses techniques they developed through their 2017 LP Borders, exploring structural aspects of ritual music and non-Western composition and combining them with recent performance work examining microtonal vocalization and acoustic qualities of materials. This is the first time Emptyset has presented a body of work using entirely acoustic production methods
http://emptyset.org.uk
http://subtextrecordings.net/

 

Yves De Mey (B)

Yves De Mey is a key Belgian electronic musician and very active since the second half of the 90ies. He is one half of Sendai with Peter Van Hoesen and records under various aliases such as Grey Branches and in the past as Eavesdropper, with outputs on labels as Opal Tapes, Sandwell District and his own Archives Interieures which he runs with Van Hoesen, De Meys’ music is rooted in sound design, scores for film, performing arts and installations, and his main tool is his ever-expanding modular synthesizer system. 2016 was a milestone year with well-received albums on Spectrum Spools (Drawn with Shadow Pens) and on Editions Mego (with Sendai - Ground and Figure).
In 2017, the UK based Inner Surface label released a full album of Grey Branches, called Neuroclaps. It’s a somewhat wild take on what could be non-functional club music.
http://www.knobsounds.com/

13

10.03.18 : Emptyset + Yves De Mey

12.01.18 : Drew McDowall + Lumisokea
 

Dans une atmosphère intime (200 places assises), les soirées BOZAR ELECTRONIC SERIES présentent les nouvelles tendances musicales qui repoussent les limites de la musique électronique, contemporaine et expérimentale.

 

Emptyset – AV performance (UK)

Emptyset se compose de Paul Purgas et James Ginzburg. Ensemble, ils ont créé Subtext Recordings pour sortir leurs propres créations, ainsi que le travail d’artistes apparentés (Roly Porter, Paul Jebanasam, Yair Glotman, Fis…). Le duo est à l’avant-garde de la musique électronique. Chaque titre ou album sorti repousse les frontières et explore de nouvelles méthodes de création sonore avec une précision scientifique, en se concentrant sur la structure, la texture et le rythme. Ils ont sorti de nombreux albums sur leur propre label et ont aussi enregistré pour Thrill Jockey et Raster-Noton. Ils ont créé des œuvres et installations pour la David Roberts Art Foundation, Spike Island, la Tate Britain et l’Architecture Foundation.
À la suite de la sortie de leur dernier EP, Skin, ils interprèteront un tout nouveau set et seront accompagnés de l’artiste audiovisuel Sam Williams. Skin utilise des techniques qu’ils ont développées dans leur LP de 2017, Borders, en explorant les aspects structurels de la musique rituelle et des compositions non occidentales. Ils mêlent ces dernières à des performances récentes qui examinent la vocalisation microtonale et les qualités acoustiques des matériaux. C’est la première fois qu’Emptyset présente un disque utilisant exclusivement des méthodes de production acoustiques.
http://emptyset.org.uk
http://subtextrecordings.net/

 

Yves De Mey (B)

Yves De Mey est un musicien électronique belge de premier plan, très actif depuis la seconde moitié des années 90. Il forme le duo Sendai avec Peter Van Hoesen. Il publie des titres sous différents pseudonymes, comme Grey Branches ou précédemment Eavesdropper, et sur différents labels, comme Opal Tapes, Sandwell District et son propre label Archives Interieures, qu’il dirige avec Van Hoesen. La musique de De Mey prend ses racines dans le design sonore, la musique de film, les arts du spectacle et les installations. Son principal outil est son synthétiseur modulaire en constante expansion. 2016 a été une année clé pour le musicien, avec des albums salués par la critique sortis sur Spectrum Spools (Drawn avec Shadow Pens) et Editions Mego (avec Sendai - Ground and Figure).
En 2017, le label Inner Surface, basé au Royaume-Uni, a sorti un album complet de Grey Branches, intitulé Neuroclaps – une vision assez folle de ce que pourrait être la club music non fonctionnelle.
http://www.knobsounds.com/