21

Language gives shape to our structured world, but in fact every sentence is a new improvisation. For Mountain, Orla Barry set to work with 57 words, an actor, a performer and a musician to make a performance that is different every time it is played. Luck, chance and a little witchcraft play equal roles in this work. The language objects on the stage not only make up the set, but also provide the foundations for the script. By playing with poetry, song, monologue, speech and suchlike, unexpected links between words, meaning and performance emerge. 

Mountain can also be seen in the form of an installation at Bozar until 5 May. It is part of the exhibition entitled Changing States: Contemporary Irish Art & Francis Bacon’s Studio, as part of Ireland’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union (28/02>5/05).

Interview with Orla Barry on Klara.

Concept & Text: Orla Barry
Music & Performance: Derrick Devine, Marcus Lamb, Einat Tuchman.
Production: STUK, (Playground Festival) Leuven
Production management: Ilse Van Essche
Committee: CAC Brétigny, If I Can 't Dance Amsterdam, STUK (Playground Festival) Leuven, Tate Modern London, co-funded by the European Union.


Also at Performatik, the performance art biennale in Brussels:
Philipp Gehmacher  solo with Jack - 27+28/02 @ Kaaistudio’s
In this dance performance the Austrian choreographer and dancer Philipp Gehmacher starts out from his own, ‘stuttering’, movement idiom as a way of examining the strengths and weaknesses of language together with the performer Jack Hauser. The utopian notion of language as an instrument for social cohesion versus the autonomy of language in the practice of art. What does language do to us, and what do we share when we speak the same language?
www.kaaitheater.be/performatik

19

Le langage donne forme à notre monde structuré, mais chaque phrase est en fait une nouvelle improvisation. Pour Mountain, Orla Barry a travaillé avec 57 mots, un acteur, un performeur et un musicien créant une performance qui est différente à chaque représentation. La chance, le sort et un peu de magie jouent un rôle important dans l’œuvre. Les objets linguistiques sur scène ne constituent pas seulement le décor, mais sont aussi à l’origine du scénario. En jouant avec la poésie, le chant, le monologue, le discours, etc., des liens inattendus émergent entre les textes, le sens et la performance.

Mountain est aussi une installation que l’on peut voir au Palais des Beaux-Arts jusqu’au 5 mai. L’œuvre fait partie de l’exposition Changing States: Contemporary Irish Art & Francis Bacon’s Studio, dans le cadre de la présidence irlandaise du Conseil de l’Union européenne (28/02>5/05).

Interview with Orla Barry on Klara.

Concept & texte: Orla Barry
Performance & musique: Derrick Devine, Marcus Lamb, Einat Tuchman.
Production: STUK, Playgroundfestival Leuven
Gestion de la production: Ilse Van Essche
Commission: CAC Brétigny, If I Can't Dance Amsterdam, STUK (Playgroundfestival) Leuven, Tate Modern Londen; co-funded by the European Union. 


Également à voir pendant Performatik2013, la biennale de l'art de la performance à Bruxelles :
Philipp Gehmacher  solo with Jack - 27+28/02 @ Kaaistudio’s
Dans cette performance de danse, le chorégraphe et danseur autrichien Philipp Gehmacher part de son propre vocabulaire gestuel « saccadé » pour analyser avec le performeur Jack Hauser les forces et les faiblesses du langage. L’utopie du langage en tant que lien social en opposition à l’autonomie du langage dans la pratique artistique. Quelle influence le langage a-t-il sur nous ? Que partageons nous quand nous parlons la même langue ?
www.kaaitheater.be/performatik