19

AN AFROPOLITAN HUB IN BRUSSELS

BOZAR is a unique, continuous, multidisciplinary platform in the heart of Europe, presenting exhibitions, debates, lectures, performances, events, and publications around art, architecture, design, fashion, literature, music, theatre, and film.

BOZAR’s AFROPOLITAN initiative is a platform for the ebullient creativity of young Afropolitan artists who bridge continents, cultures and influences, creating new artistic forms and discourses. It aims to present the best of contemporary artistic creations linked to Africa and its Diaspora in Europe, to engage the mind, mix audiences, and open up perspectives to a new image of Africa, and the Africa Next Narratives at play. It is built with institutional and independent partners and articulated as:
 •  AFROPOLITAN CHRONICLES - annual encounters for exchange, debates, film, networking;
 •  AFROPOLITAN FESTIVAL - biannual multidisciplinary festival
 •  AFROPOLITAN HUB - a physical and virtual meeting and showcase space
 •  EXHIBITIONS & CONCERTS

BOZAR strives to:
 •  Highlight the contemporary creativity of the African Continent and Diaspora for audiences in Belgium and Europe, in line with its international mission to promote cultural diversity and intercultural dialogue;
 •  Include African voices in today’s global societal and cultural discourses;
 •  Support collaborations between north African and sub-Saharan artists;
 •  Offer a platform for the Continent’s next narratives and its players.

BOZAR relies on its ongoing partnership with the ROYAL MUSEUM FOR CENTRAL AFRICA, generating exhibitions which place heritage and collections in dialogue with contemporary art and society. BOZAR also developed an extensive network of both renowned and younger African curators, contemporary art centres, artists, activists, urbanists, architects, leaders and thinkers; and privileged partnerships with Belgian, European, and international agencies, foundations and NGO’s.

A team of dedicated individuals work within BOZAR’s artistic departments and with external partners to create programmes that are transversal in nature. Their combined expertise lies in economics, international relations, music, cultural cooperation, cultural heritage, journalism, cultural policy, architecture, urbanism, scenography, art history;.

Kathleen Louw (US/Belgium)
Kathleen.louw@bozar.be
Ayoko Mensah (Togo/France)
Ayoko.mensah@bozar.be
Tony Van Der Eecken (Belgium)
Tony.vandereecken@bozar.be
Terenja van Dijk (Netherlands / Belgium)
Terenja.vandijk@bozar.be

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

19

Une plateforme afropolitaine à BOZAR

BOZAR est une plate-forme multidisciplinaire unique et constante au cœur de l’Europe, qui présente des expositions, débats, conférences, performances, événements et publications autour de l’art, l’architecture, de design, la mode, la littérature, la musique, le théâtre, et le cinéma.

L’initiative AFROPOLITAN est une plate-forme consacrée à la créativité bouillonnante des jeunes artistes afropolitains qui relient les continents, les cultures et les influences en créant des langages et formes  artistiques nouveaux. Elle entend présenter le meilleur des créations artistiques contemporaines en lien avec l’Afrique et sa Diaspora en Europe, afin de mêler les publics et ouvrir des perspectives pour une nouvelle image et des futurs narratifs de l’Afrique.
L’initiative est le fruit d’une association avec des partenaires institutionnels et indépendants, et comporte les axes suivants :
- AFROPOLITAN FESTIVAL & CHRONICLES – festival multidisciplinaire et moments réguliers de programmation cinéma et  débats
- AFROPOLITAN HUB– un espace de rencontre et d’exposition physique et virtuel
- EXPOSITIONS & CONCERTS
Concrètement BOZAR a pour objectif de
- Mettre en avant la créativité contemporaine du continent africain et de la Diaspora à l’intention des publics et européens afin de promouvoir la diversité culturelle et le dialogue interculturel conformément à sa mission internationale ;
- Inclure les voix africaines aux discours sociétaux et culturels mondiaux d’aujourd’hui ;
- Soutenir les collaborations entre artistes nord-africains et subsahariens ;
- Offrir une plate-forme aux futures narratifs du continent et à ses acteurs.

BOZAR, dans son partenariat permanent avec le MUSEE ROYAL DE L’AFRIQUE CENTRALE, met sur pied des expositions où patrimoine et collections entrent en dialogue avec l’art et la société d’aujourd’hui. BOZAR a également développé un vaste réseau de jeunes curateurs africains renommés, de centres d’art contemporain, d’artistes, d’activistes, d’urbanistes, de dirigeants et de penseurs. BOZAR s’appuie enfin sur des partenariats privilégiés avec des organismes, fondations et ONG belges, européens et internationaux.

Une équipe passionnée travaille avec les départements artistiques de BOZAR et des partenaires externes à créer des programmes transversaux incluant l’Afrique et/ou ses Diasporas. Son expertise couvre de nombreux domaines : économie, relations internationales, musique, coopération culturelle, patrimoine culturel, journalisme, politique culturelle, architecture, urbanisme, scénographie, histoire de l’art.

Kathleen Louw (US/Belgique)
Kathleen.louw@bozar.be
Ayoko Mensah (Togo/France)
Ayoko.mensah@bozar.be
Tony Van Der Eecken (Belgique)
Tony.vandereecken@bozar.be
Terenja van Dijk (Pays-Bas/ Belgique)
Terenja.vandijk@bozar.be

En cours et à venir

Précédemment