26

On presentation of your ticket, get a € 10 discount* on the catalogue.

Avant-garde is a concept that stems from both warfare and art. Avant-garde flourished in a society in full transition. Artists anticipate social revolutions. In visual art the heyday of the avant-garde is situated between 1895 and 1920, with the First World War as an international fault line. But how relevant is this pioneering art today? Around 15 leading contemporary artists enter into dialogue with colleagues from the historical avant-garde, from Ensor and Munch to the new movements just after the war. Today’s artists often feel a strong affinity with specific avant-garde works of art. Their choice and the dialogue with their own work forces us to look at these key works from modern art in a different light. The power of the avant-garde seems to have plenty more in reserve.

With works by, amongst others, Alexander Archipenko, Robert Delaunay, Marcel Duchamp, Fernand Léger, Kazimir Malevich, August Macke, Gino Severini in dialogue with David Claerbout, Marlene Dumas, William Forsythe, Gerhard Richter, Sean Scully and Luc Tuymans.

Curator: Ulrich Bischoff

* Offer only available in the BOZAR BOOKSHOP.

Did you know?

  • Questions? Fragen? Preguntas? 题? Demandu?

    Just ask one of the multilingual attendants at the Centre for Fine Arts. These ‘art whisperers’ will have the answer and will happily tell you more about the background of the exhibition, the life of the artist or the broader context of the exhibits. They will also help with practical matters and it is their job to check tickets, maintain order in the building, run the cloakroom and distribute audio guides. You will recognize the art whisperers by their yellow badge.

    — published on

Previously

16

Sur présentation de votre ticket, bénéficiez d'une réduction de € 10* sur le prix du catalogue.

L’avant-garde est un terme issu à la fois du monde de la guerre et de l’art. Elle prospère dans des sociétés en plein développement. Les artistes sont les visionnaires des révolutions sociales. Dans l’art plastique, l’âge d’or de l’avant-garde se situe entre 1895 et 1920, la Première Guerre mondiale symbolisant une fracture à l’échelle internationale. Quelle est, aujourd’hui, la pertinence de cette forme d’art innovatrice? Une quinzaine d’artistes contemporains réputés engagent le dialogue avec leurs prédécesseurs, d’Ensor et Munch aux mouvements qui virent le jour au lendemain de la guerre. Les artistes d’aujourd’hui se sentent souvent profondément liés à des oeuvres avant-gardistes spécifiques. Leurs choix, résonnant avec leurs propres oeuvres, nous ouvrent les yeux sur un cadre référentiel inédit de l’art moderne. L’avant-garde a encore de beaux jours devant elle.

Avec notamment des oeuvres de Alexander Archipenko, Robert Delaunay, Marcel Duchamp, Fernand Léger, Kazimir Malevich, August Macke, Gino Severini en dialogue avec David Claerbout, Marlene Dumas, William Forsythe, Gerhard Richter, Sean Scully et Luc Tuymans.

Commissaire : Ulrich Bischoff

* Offre valable uniquement au BOZAR BOOKSHOP.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Questions? Fragen? Preguntas? 题? Demandu?

    Posez-les aux gardiens polyglottes que vous croiserez au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Ces médiateurs culturels vous répondront et vous en diront plus sur l’exposition, les œuvres, la vie de l’artiste ou encore le contexte dans lequel s’inscrit l’expo. Vous pouvez également vous adresser à eux en cas de question pratique. Ils sont en outre responsables du contrôle des tickets, de l’ordre dans le bâtiment, du vestiaire et des audioguides. Vous reconnaitrez les médiateurs culturels par leur badge jaune. 

    — publié le

Précédemment