17

Oskaras Korsunovas director, set design – Gintaras Sodeika composition – Nele Savicenko actress – Martynas Nedzinskas actor – Darius Meskauskas actor – Gelmine Glemzaite actress – Agneska Ravdo actress – Vytautas Anuzis actor – Kirilas Glusajevas actor – Airida Gintautaite actress – Rasa Samuolyte actress – Darius Gumauskas actor – Dainius Gavenonis actor – Kirilas Gulsajevas actor – Giedrius Savickas actor

The highly-esteemed Lithuanian director Oskaras Korsunovas brings us a searing interpretation of Anton Chekhov’s theatre classic The Seagull. The play is about theatre, art and artists. It is an identifiable drama that delves into the workings of the human soul. The relationship between mother and son is just as central as it was in Korsunovas’ interpretation of Shakespeare’s Hamlet. Arkadina and Trepljov each represent a vision of art. He is a young playwright who is overpowered by her belief in art, she is a famous actress who is somewhat set in her ways. The first performance of The Seagull was a turning point in the history of theatre because it brought together the innovative minds of Chekhov, director Konstantin Stanislavsky and actor Vsevolodod Meyerhold.  Korsunovas, with his extremely intense pioneering theatre, is conscious of this as he strives for a new dramatic reality.



For Korsunovas theatre is like a laboratory. The actors are the main ingredients and, with their unrivalled performances, are central in a lot of his productions. In many respects The Seagull continues to build on themes which he had already touched on in Hamlet. After Hamlet and Maxime Gorki’s Lower Depths this is the third part of a trilogy.

 

Introduction at 07.00 pm in English

17

Oskaras Korsunovas mise en scène, scénographie – Gintaras Sodeika composition – Nele Savicenko comédienne – Martynas Nedzinskas comédien – Darius Meskauskas comédien – Gelmine Glemzaite comédienne – Agneska Ravdo comédienne – Vytautas Anuzis comédien – Kirilas Glusajevas comédien – Airida Gintautaite comédienne – Rasa Samuolyte comédienne – Darius Gumauskas comédien – Dainius Gavenonis comédien – Kirilas Gulsajevas comédien – Giedrius Savickas comédien

L'excellent metteur en scène lituanien Oskaras Korsunovas propose une adaptation saisissante d'un classique d'Anton Tchekhov, La Mouette. Ce drame, qui aborde les thèmes du théâtre, de l'art et des artistes, creuse sans équivoque au plus profond de l'âme humaine. Tout comme dans son adaptation du Hamlet shakespearien, Korsunovas place la relation mère-fils au centre de la pièce. Arkadina et Trepljov symbolisent chacun une vision artistique propre. La première est une actrice célèbre, bien qu'un peu dépassée, le second est un jeune auteur de théâtre englouti par sa passion pour l'art. La première représentation de La Mouette marqua un tournant dans l'histoire du théâtre, car elle rassemblait autour d'une même initiative trois personnalités innovantes : Anton Tchekhov, le metteur en scène Constantin Stanislavsky et l'acteur Vsevolodod Meyerhold. Korsunovas en est conscient, et aspire à une nouvelle réalité théâtrale. Il propose lui aussi un théâtre innovant et d'une intensité extrême.



Korsunovas considère le théâtre comme un laboratoire. Les acteurs et leurs incomparables prestations sont les principaux ingrédients de la plupart de ses productions. D'un point de vue thématique, The Seagull continue sur la lancée de Hamlet, et forme, avec celui-ci et Lower Depths, une trilogie dont elle est le troisième volet.

 Introduction à 19h00  (en Anglais)