Grigory Sokolov piano


Piano Sonata, KV 545 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Fantasia for piano, KV 475 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Sonata, KV 457 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Sonata no. 27, op. 90 Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata no. 32, op. 111 Ludwig van Beethoven

The Russian pianist Grigory Sokolov has been a regular at the Centre for Fine Arts for more than ten years now. When it comes to the piano he is a real living legend with his impressive presence and extremely pure technique. Whatever he plays, he always manages to recreate deeply moving atmospheres with his breath-taking technical mastery and an exceptional sense of musical emotion. His sophisticated yet gentle touch exhibits an expressive power which engulfs the listener in the most lyrical moments. He creates a musical universe which physically invades the concert hall. Sokolov is a magician, a true master of the piano. His performances overflow with radiant energy which always rings true and is never surplus to requirements.