Ensemble ModernMichael Wendeberg conductor


Air, for horn solo Jörg Widmann
My Favourite Things II Seyko Itoh
Quintet Jörg Widmann
Projections for 7 players Joji Yuasa
Liebeslied, for 8 instruments Jörg Widmann

This edition of Ars Musica, the biennial festival for contemporary classical music, focuses on Japan. Titled ‘The land of the rising sound’, the festival presents the multiple facets of Japanese art in relation to the West. The Ensemble Modern will be performing work by BOZAR resident artist Jörg Widmann and the Japanese composers Joji Yuasa and Seyko Itoh. Yuasa is one of Japan’s leading  composers whose  Projection for 7 players is illustrative of a the heart of his philosophy: an individualism typical of Western society and a holistic tendency associated with the East.