Nikita Mndoyants piano


6 Bagatelles, op. 126 Ludwig van Beethoven
Davidsbündlertänze, op. 6 Robert Schumann
Sarcasmes, op. 17 Sergey Prokofiev
Variations on a theme by Paganini Nikita Mndoyants

The Cleveland International Piano Competition was launched in Ohio in 1975 as a springboard for talented young pianists. As always, the participants perform with the illustrious Cleveland Orchestra, which was BOZAR’s guest in October 2015 under the direction of the Austrian conductor Franz Welser-Möst. This year Nikita Mndoyants (1989) landed first prize. The Russian pianist graduated with honours from the Moscow Conservatory and has won numerous piano and composition competitions. Mndoyants made an impression on the jury with Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4: “Cool, technically flawless and meaningful. […] Nikita Mndoyants gave us a refreshing interpretation of an undervalued score.” On 25 January you can see him in action at the Centre for Fine Arts.