Update’s mission is to expand the scope of contemporary artistic creations and traditional media. It presents works using contemporary and new technologies in an original and intelligent way: treatment of sounds and light, use of new media, application of innovative evolutions in communications, telecommunications and broadcasting, centered on the world of information, communication, and computers and interaction. These descriptions are in no way restrictive and should be interpreted in the broadest way possible.

Classified under New Technological Art Award three prizes are awarded: a jury prize (€ 5.000), a public prize (exhibition in a known, European museum) and a prize in collaboration with the STARTS-program of the European Commission (residence in industrial enterprise / research centre).

The 19 selected artists for update_6 / NTAA 2016:
1024 architecture (FR) // Assocreation / Daylight Media Lab (AT/TH) // Alessio Chierico (IT) // CREW_Eric Joris (BE) // Michiel De Cleene // Dries Depoorter (BE) // Verena Friedrich (DE) // Julien Grossmann (FR) // Elias Heuninck (BE) // Michael Kugler (US) & Sebastian Wolf (DE) // Marc Lee (CH) // Michael Mandiberg (US) // Quadrature—Jan Bernstein, Juliane Götz, Sebastian Neitsch (DE) // Theresa Schubert (DE) // Karina Smigla-Bobinski (DE) // Maja Smrekar (SI) // Stanza (UK) // Bill Vorn & Louis-Philippe Demers (CA) // Lien-Cheng Wang (TW)

The Jury:
Martin Honzik // Peter Weibel // Jean-Marie Dallet // Stichting Liedts-Meesen // Stef Van Bellingen // Paul Dujardin // Nick Ervinck // Alain Thibault // Edwin Carels // Karen Helmerson // Ralph Dum