Nicolas Altstaedt cello – Fazil Say piano


Sonata for cello and piano Claude Debussy
Dört Şehir Fazil Say
Pohadka Leoš Janáček
Sonata for cello and piano, op. 40

The Turkish pianist and composer Fazil Say and the Franco-German cellist Nicolas Altstaedt are offering a luxurious profusion of works that mainly reflect the wide variety of 20th century styles. The programme includes one of the final works by Debussy, equally rich in fantasy as in sensitivity, the world of Vassili Joukovski set to music by Janáček, the cello sonata by Shostakovich with its classical and exceedingly lyrical style, and Dört Şehir ("Four Cities"), which is reminiscent of the sharply contrasting atmospheres of four places that influenced Fazil Say: Sivas, Hopa, Ankara and Bodrum.