Grigory Sokolov piano


Piano Sonata no. 32, Hob.XVI:44 Joseph Haydn
Piano Sonata (Divertimento) no. 47, Hob.XVI:32 Joseph Haydn
Piano Sonata no. 49, Hob.XVI:36 Joseph Haydn
4 Impromptus, op. 142, D 935 Franz Schubert

The Russian pianist Grigory Sokolov is a true living legend. Whatever work he performs, he invariably manages to create an audience-enthralling atmosphere thanks to his amazing technical skill and a keen sense of musical emotion. His sophisticated and delicate touch enables him to achieve an expressive power that deeply affects the audience. The musical universe he creates seems to have a physical impact in the concert hall setting. Sokolov is a magician, a sorcerer, overflowing with a radiant energy that always rings true and is never surplus to requirements.