Ensemble Les SurprisesLouis-Noël Bestion de Camboulas harpsichord, director, organ – Maïlys de Villoutreys soprano – Etienne Bazola baritone – Marie Rouquie violin – Juliette Guignard viola da gamba – Gabriel Ferry violin – Etienne Galletier theorbo


Ciaconna Johann Pachelbel
De profundis clamavi Nicolaus Bruhns
Aria Sebaldina, con partite Johann Pachelbel
Wohl dem, der den Herren fürchtet Christoph Bernhard
Passacaglia, BuxWV 161 Dietrich Buxtehude
Cantata "Herr, wenn ich nur dir habe", BuxWV 38 Dietrich Buxtehude
Sonata Hortus musicus no. 1, BWV 965 (after Johann Adam Reincken) Johann Sebastian Bach
Cantata "Fried und Freudenreiche Hinfahrt", BuxWV 76 Dietrich Buxtehude

Under the title Mysterien Cantaten, the young French Baroque ensemble Les Surprises takes us back in time to the Holy Roman Empire, which suffered dreadfully in 17th century Central and Northern Germany. The country was war-stricken – you only have to think of the bloody Thirty Year War – and ravaged by epidemics. Composers were fascinated by the religious mysteries and could put the passions and ordeals of the soul to music like none other. Alongside masterpieces by the great Bach, we are treated to a selection of works by his Lutheran predecessors.