Les Musiciens du LouvreEmöke Baráth soprano – Francesco Corti harpsichord, conductor


Venus and Adonis HWV 85, reconstructed by L. Guglielmi Georg Friedrich Händel
Trio for oboe, bassoon and b.c. in c minor Giovanni Platti
Cantata "Benché sempre crudel" Reinhard Keiser
Cantata "Se pari è la tua fè", HWV 158c Georg Friedrich Händel
Aria "Dolce pur d’amor l’affanno" (Cantata HWV 109) Georg Friedrich Händel
Folia for harpsichord Alessandro Scarlatti
Da sventura a sventura Alessandro Scarlatti
Trio for oboe, cello and b.c. in g minor Giovanni Platti
Cantata "Mi palpita il cor", HWV 132b Georg Friedrich Händel

Handel’s stay in Italy between 1706 and 1710 was a decisive one. Without renouncing his German roots, the composer drew a lot of inspiration from local musical practices. Based around the famous cantata Mi palpita il cor, Les Musiciens du Louvre conducted by Francesco Corti unveil the masters who influenced this travelling composer: from Reinhard Keiser, director of the Hamburg Opera at the time, to the master of Neapolitan opera Alessandro Scarlatti. On stage, the brilliant Hungarian soprano Emöke Baráth is reunited with Les Musiciens du Louvre with whom she sang Bach’s Mass in B minor in 2013 and 2014.