Gidon Kremer violin


Chaconne (Partita no. 2 BWV 1004) Johann Sebastian Bach
La Lontananza nostalgica utopica futura Luigi Nono
24 Preludes, op. 100 (arrangement for violin solo by Gidon Kremer) Moisey Weinberg

During this recital, the Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer creates a bridge between the past and the present. He opens with the Chaconne that closes Bach’s Partita for Violin No. 2. This is followed by Luigi Nono’s La Lontananza nostalgica futura, for violin and eight audio tapes, as a tribute to the post-war avant-garde music. The recital is drawn to a close with 24 Preludes for Cello by Mieczyslaw Weinberg, who remains largely unknown, despite being one of the leading 20th century Russian composers. Kremer has transcribed parts of the work for his own instrument under the title Preludes to a Lost Time. Kremer has combined these highly expressive preludes with a selection of nostalgic and utopian negatives by the Lithuanian photographer Antanas Sutkus, creating a deeply moving audiovisual work.

Did you know?

  • Preludes to a Lost Time

    The great Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer introduces us to the music of Russian composer Mieczysław Weinberg, and explains why his new project includes old Soviet photographs.

    — published on