Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker choreography, dance – Jean-Guihen Queyras cello – Luc Schaltin lighting design – An D'Huys costumes – Marie Goudot dance – Michaël Pomero dance – Boštian Antončič dance


6 Suites for cello, BWV 1007-1012 Johann Sebastian Bach
Jelek II, op. 5b György Kurtag
Arnyak György Kurtag
Az hit György Kurtag
Janos Pilinszky / Gérard de Nerval, op. 5b György Kurtag
In memoriam Aczél György György Kurtag

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Cello Suites are considered a milestone in the history of Western music. The intellectual and architectural elements continue to have a contemporary appeal, with their rhythmic vitality and melodic intricacy. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s affinity with Bach was already apparent in several previous creations, and she continues to pursue a choreography that captures the essence of Bach’s music. In this production, Bach’s score, performed by the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras, is explored, challenged, and performed through a choreography for three male and two female dancers, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker herself one of them. Both the individual character of the six suites and their mutual interconnections emerge from this riveting symbiosis of music and dance.