Arcadi Volodos piano


Piano Sonata, D 157 Franz Schubert
6 Moments musicaux D 780 op. 94 Franz Schubert
Prelude, op. 3/2 Sergei Rachmaninoff
Prelude, op. 23/10 Sergei Rachmaninoff
Prélude, op. 32/10 Sergei Rachmaninoff
How Fair this Spot, op. 21/7 (arr. A. Volodos) Sergei Rachmaninoff
Serenade, op. 3/5 Sergei Rachmaninoff
Etude-tableau, op. 33/3 Sergei Rachmaninoff
Mazurka, op. 25/3 Alexander Skryabin
Caresse dansée, op. 57/2 Alexander Skryabin
Enigme, op.52/2 Alexander Skryabin
Flammes sombres, op. 73/2 Alexander Skryabin
En rêvant, avec une grande douceur, op. 71/2 Alexander Skryabin
Vers la flamme, op. 72 Alexander Skryabin

The legendary virtuoso Arcadi Volodos plays one of Schubert’s greatest sonatas, paired with Russian nostalgia and virtuosity in works by Scriabin and Rachmaninoff. Volodos is known for his discerning and flexible tones which turn his performances into an enchanting experience, almost as though you are attending a religious service. This depth is ingrained in Volodos’ every fibre. “I’m a night owl,” he told the NRC Handelsblad. “I’m really wide awake around eleven o’clock at night. Then I play the piano, compose, write, daydream, read, study […]. Just as in music, one moment you’re soaring heavenwards with Schubert the next you’re descending to the slums of the suffering soul with Rachmaninoff, so alongside the heavy philosophies of Emil Cioran I also enjoy reading Epicurus.”
Listen to the playlist "Piano Lovers" on Spotify

Did you know?

  • Gramophone Award 2018 for Arcadi Volodos

    The virtuoso pianist bagged one of the most prestigious awards in classical music last week. Get your tickets for his exceptional concert on November 21 now.

    read more
    — published on