Christian Arming conductor – Liza Fertschman violin


Fanfare for the Common Man Aaron Copland
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, op. 14 Samuel Barber
Strike Up the Band, Overture George Gershwin
West Side Story, Symphonic Dances Leonard Bernstein

A musical portrait of New York, and a fusion of jazz, classical music, Latin music and the thrill of city life.

The violinist Liza Ferschtman and Samuel Barber’s lyrical Violin Concerto – a match made in heaven. Interestingly enough, Ferschtman and Barber studied at the same school in Philadelphia, where Barber also taught and worked on his composition. In an interview she explained what a warm and generous work this is. “He embraces the audience from the outset, with arms wide open.” The Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège, with conductor Christian Arming, has paired Barber with two fellow Americans for this concert, namely Bernstein and Copland. The programme includes the Symphonic Dances from West Side Story, a suite inspired by the music from the popular musical about the rivalry between the Jets and the Sparks. A musical portrait of New York, with influences of jazz, classical music, Latin music combined with the thrill of city life. Finally, they will also perform Aaron Copland’s magnificent Fanfare for the Common Man.