Maciej Kułakowski cello


Suite for cello no. 1, BWV 1007 Johann Sebastian Bach
Trois strophes sur le nom de Sacher Henri Dutilleux
Capriccio per Siegfried Palm Krzysztof Penderecki
Alone Giovanni Sollima

Polish cellist Maciej Kułakowski, a laureate of the Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2017 and winner of the Witold Lutosławski International Cello Competition in Warsaw in 2015, will perform a highly varied recital. Taking a journey through time and space, he shifts easily from one of Bach’s Suites to a composition by Dutilleux. Kułakowski, who feels equally at ease playing contemporary music, also invites us to discover some rarely heard music by the Polish composer Grażyna Bacewicz, a prominent figure in twentieth-century Polish music, and by the Italian composer Giovanni Sollima. His recital ends with Penderecki’s tribute to the great German cellist and composer Siegfried Palm.