Belgian National OrchestraHugh Wolff conductor – Renaud Capuçon violin


Appalachian Spring Aaron Copland
Aufgang, concerto for violin and orchestra Pascal Dusapin
Symphony no. 1, op. 38, "Spring" Robert Schumann


“For all things change, making way for each other.” That is how Euripides summed up the power of nature, which is constantly changing and evolving. This idea is also reflected in the violin concerto Aufgang, in which “the conflict between darkness and the blinding light is the driving force.” The shadows of the orchestra make way for the radiant violin. Dusapin composed Aufgang especially for Renaud Capuçon, who is travelling to Brussels to perform the Belgian premiere of this work this evening.

Robert Schumann’s Symphony No. 1, also known as the Spring Symphony, is in the same vein. He wrote to a friend: “Could you breathe a little of the longing for spring into your orchestra as they play? That was most in my mind when I wrote this symphony.” Spring also seemed to be on Aaron Copland’s mind when he composed his Appalachian Spring. But this is based on a misunderstanding. While spring is definitely in the air in his composition, here the English word refers to a ‘source’.

Did you know?

  • A French composer in Brussels

    Portrait: Pascal Dusapin

    What brings together violinist Renaud Capuçon, organist Olivier Latry, the Danel Quartet, the Belgian National Orchestra and La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra? Answer: BOZAR’s tribute to French composer Pascal Dusapin. It is an obvious choice to highlight the work of this gifted musician, who has distinguished himself in every genre – with solo, chamber, symphony, and vocal works – and has developed a long-standing relationship with Belgium and La Monnaie.

    — published on

    Following his glorious opera Macbeth Underworld at La Monnaie, composer Pascal Dusapin remains a focal point of the season. In February, visitors will be delighted by three of his most stunning instrumental pieces… including a Belgian premiere.

    — published on