Mitsuko Uchida piano – Jörg Widmann clarinet


Sonata for clarinet and piano, op. 120/1 Johannes Brahms
4 Pieces for clarinet and piano, op. 5 Alban Berg
Fantasy for solo clarinet Jörg Widmann
Impromptu, op. 90/1, D 899 Franz Schubert
Sonatina facile Jörg Widmann
Fantasiestücke for Clarinet and Piano, op. 73 Robert Schumann

In 2017, the collaboration between composer and clarinettist Jörg Widmann and pianist Mitsuko Uchida first came about at Wigmore Hall in London. This evening, these excellent musicians are reunited on our stage, in a programme for clarinet and piano dedicated to the duo. A melancholy and smooth Schumann, and a gentle and intoxicating Brahms, this combination of timbres inspired the young Alban Berg to compose the four audacious miniatures, which form his Opus 5. In addition to the duos, two solo works by Schubert and Widmann will showcase the talent of these exceptional soloists.

Did you know?