A group of extraordinary musicians celebrates the cooperation between Asia and Europe!

In the framework of the international day of the Asia Europe Meeting (ASEM), an Asia-Europe cooperation platform with 53 partners on two continents, the young Norwegian violinist Eldbjørg Hemsing invites the audience on a musical journey, in which the works of the Oscar-winning Chinese composer Tan Dun meet the works of the masters who inspired him, namely Bartók, Ysaÿe or Grieg.

During the second half of the concert, we will follow in the footsteps of Marco Polo, who will forever be remembered as the world’s first great traveller. Thanks to the musical dialogue created by the Greek composer and oud player Kyriakos Kalaitizidis, we can follow the famous Italian merchant to the Orient. The musicians, from the Mediterranean, Mongolia and China, evoke his epic journey, with original compositions and traditional melodies.

A programme that is resolutely founded on listening and exchanges, on synergies and promises for the future.

Part 1 :  Eldbjørg Hemsing, violin  Part 2 : Ensemble En Chordais (Greece) Lingling Yu: pipa
Marco Rosa Salva: recorder
Amartuvshin Baasandorj: vocals
Kiya Tabassian: setar, voice, artistic direction
Keyvan Chemirani: tombak, daff
Kyriakos Petras: violin
Kyriakos Kalaitizidis: oud, vocals, artistic direction
Petros Papageorgiou: toumpeleki, defi, bendir
Alkis Zopoglou: qanun
Mathilde Gomas: viola da gamba

Part 1 : Hero sonata and Fire Ritua (excerpts) , Tan Dun - Transylvanian dance, Béla Bartók
Caprice no. 11, Niccolò Paganini - Ballade, Eugène Ysaÿe -
The last Spring (melody), Edvard Grieg -  Sonata Saxifraga, Øistein Sommerfeldt - Seterjentens Søndag, Ole Bull  Part 2 :  Traditional music from China, Mongolia, Greece and the Mediterranean Sea -  Original compositions  by Kyriakos Kalaitizidis and Kiya Tabassian