La Monnaie Symphony OrchestraAlain Altinoglu conductor – Nelson Goerner piano – Saténik Khourdoian violin


Uncut Pascal Dusapin
Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 1, op. 23 Pyotr Tchaikovsky
Ein Heldenleben, Symphonic Poem, op. 40 Richard Strauss

The compelling melodic and virtuoso enchantment of Tchaikovsky’s famous piano concerto; the impressive life story of a hero (himself?) told in a playful and brilliant manner by the orchestra in one of Strauss’s great symphonic poems; and the fascinating new soundworld of Pascal Dusapin, in one of his recent pieces: a recipe that combines grand Romanticism with a dash of pathos and fresh contemporary sounds. A perfect opening to the season! 

Did you know?

  • A French composer in Brussels

    Portrait: Pascal Dusapin

    What brings together violinist Renaud Capuçon, organist Olivier Latry, the Danel Quartet, the Belgian National Orchestra and La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra? Answer: BOZAR’s tribute to French composer Pascal Dusapin. It is an obvious choice to highlight the work of this gifted musician, who has distinguished himself in every genre – with solo, chamber, symphony, and vocal works – and has developed a long-standing relationship with Belgium and La Monnaie.

    — published on