La Monnaie Symphony OrchestraAlain Altinoglu conductor – Sally Matthews soprano – Olivier Latry organ


Waves, concerto for organ and orchestra (Belgian premiere - commissioned by Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, La Monnaie, Orchestre philharmonique de Radio France, La Philharmonie de Paris, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande) Pascal Dusapin
Vier letzte Lieder Richard Strauss
Symphony no. 4, op. 36 Pyotr Tchaikovsky

This event can not take place due to the restrictions regarding COVID-19. BOZAR is trying to find a new date for the event in mutual agreement with our partners. If you have already purchased a ticket for the event, you can find all necessary information here.

With his four last lieder from 1948, Richard Strauss let the romantic art of the lied go under in a glorious, deep evening glow. It is the consummate work with which to conclude our series of concerts centred on Tchaikovsky and Strauss. Soprano Sally Matthews, who one month later will debut in Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier, teams up with the La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra and Alain Altinoglu to guide us through its profound joy and sorrow, which find a worthy counterpart in Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4. And then there is still the Belgian premiere of Waves, Pascal Dusapin’s latest organ concerto … An outstanding musical evening.

Did you know?

  • A French composer in Brussels

    Portrait: Pascal Dusapin

    What brings together violinist Renaud Capuçon, organist Olivier Latry, the Danel Quartet, the Belgian National Orchestra and La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra? Answer: BOZAR’s tribute to French composer Pascal Dusapin. It is an obvious choice to highlight the work of this gifted musician, who has distinguished himself in every genre – with solo, chamber, symphony, and vocal works – and has developed a long-standing relationship with Belgium and La Monnaie.

    — published on