VOCES8Rachel Podger violin


Drop, Drop, Slow Tears Orlando Gibbons
Pater Noster Anonymous
Passacaglia "Guardian Angel" for solo violin Heinrich Ignaz von Biber
Angelus ad Virginem (arr. Voces8) Anonymous
Angelus ad pastores ait, for 8 voices Hieronymus Praetorius
Passaggio rotto, Fantasia, Movimento incognito (from Other Ayrs, Preludes, Allemandes, Sarabands) Nicola Matteis
Denn er hat seinen Engeln Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
O nata lux de lumine Thomas Tallis
Die Himmel erzählen die Ehre Gottes, SWV 386 Heinrich Schütz
Domine non secundum peccata nostra James MacMillan
When David Heard That Absalom Was Slain Thomas Tomkins
Partita for flute solo, BWV 1013 Johann Sebastian Bach
Adoramus te, Christe Claudio Monteverdi
The Three Kings Jonathan Dove
Angelus Domini descendit (Sacrae symphoniae, Liber 1) Giovanni Gabrieli
Antiphon for the Angels (commission Voces8 & Rachel Podger) Owain Park

The Times described Rachel Podger as “the unsurpassed British glory of the baroque violin”. With her heavenly violin playing, she presents the moving Schutzengel-Sonate from Heinrich Biber’s Rosenkranzsonaten. She conjures yet more angelic tones in her collaboration with our artist in residence, VOCES8. Together, they provide an intensely meditative experience that brings the past (Bach, Gibbons, Dove, Praetorius and Gabrieli) and present (Park and MacMillan) together. The performance involves solo performance, purely vocal work and ensemble playing in a range of locations within the cathedral.