Danel String Quartet


Reflections on the theme B-A-C-H Sofia Gubaidulina
Adagio & Fugue, KV 546 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String quartet, op. 20/5, Hob.III:35 Joseph Haydn
String quartet no. 14, op. 131 Ludwig van Beethoven

This concert is part of the Bach Heritage project, for which the Quatuor Danel devised this special programme. The piece by Sofia Gubaidulina, a Russian composer born in 1931 who is a great admirer of Bach, is based on the notes that form Bach's name (in German nomenclature: B-A-C-H). The fugue, a musical form that occupied a key place in Bach's oeuvre, is also present in the Mozart, Haydn, and Beethoven works the quartet plays this evening.