‘La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra & Alain Altinoglu’

19 Feb.'23
- 20:00

Boesmans, Strauss, Lekeu

Richard Strauss demonstrates his versatility with Don Juan, Op. 20 (1888) on the one hand, an ardent and unruly tone poem from his younger years in which he euphorically glorifies the mythical womaniser in a pre-me-too way, and the transparent, neoclassical, all but bucolic Oboe Concerto in D Major (1945) on the other hand. The solo is reserved for Luk Nielandt, oboe soloist with the La Monnaie orchestra. Our very own country will be putting its best foot forward too: Intervalles I (1972), one of Philippe Boesmans' earliest works for large orchestra, slowly reveals a refined interplay of intervals in pitch, time and space within an orchestra split into two symmetrical ensembles. In addition, Guilliaume Lekeu will provide an understated lament for string orchestra with his melancholic Adagio pour quatuor d'orchestre (1891).

Alain Altinoglu
Luk Nielandt
La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra
Philippe Boesmans

Intervalles I pour orchestre

Richard Strauss

Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra, op. 144

Guillaume Lekeu

Adagio, for string quartet and orchestra

Richard Strauss

Don Juan, Symphonic Poem, op. 20

Practical information


Henry Le Boeuf Hall

Rue Ravenstein 23 1000 BRUSSELS