24

During this school year, 200 young people from 12 schools and youth organisations met a number of politicians – including project sponsor Herman Van Rompuy – during a series of talks and debates. Working with artists, they produced films, performances, installations, sculptures and short stories. From 17-29 May their ideas, stories and dreams will be presented at the exhibition ‘Next Generation, Please’. Are the pupils inventing new concepts and writing a new chapter? Are they silent, whispering, or shouting till they’re hoarse? We provide a glimpse.


Who did what?

Eleven young people aged between 15 and 19 - each with their own character – worked with two choreographers and a filmmaker/musician to produce a movement performance and dance film on the subject of the European motto “united in diversity”.

A search for group identity led the artist Tine Guns, the philosopher Jim Maes and final-year tourism students to create ‘Eurotopia’, or three fictional countries where human values triumph. But what happens if real problems arise there too?
 
In the Pianofabriek Borderlines brought together participants who found conventional notions of nationality and borders are too restrictive. Young people from diverse backgrounds and numerous identities shared their experiences. 

Why did no one react to the destruction of a historical monument in Croatia? A monument erected to mark the resistance of the people to the fascist government. The Commission, Piazza dell’Arte and the artist Thomas Nolf went in search of an answer with a group of young people.

Pupils at the European School in Laeken and the artist Filip Van Dingenen took Carte du Monde Poétique (1968) by Marcel Broodthaers as their point of departure to speak of identity. While tracing their path on the world map, they found inspiration in the work of the American artist Jimmie Durham.

Photographer Vincent Beeckman put together a magazine with 20 children from the Petit Chateau refugee centre. With striking images, drawings and texts, they dream about their countries of origin and destination. 

Artists Mathias Ruelle and Guy Dermul organised a round table conference at which 26 students from the 28 Member States had a discussion on the borders of Serbia and Hungary. The moderator was the British economist and writer Philippe Legrain. 

Students of photography and the audiovisual arts at the Koninklijk Atheneum in Anderlecht presented their vision of Europe in a colourful, multimedia exhibition in association with dancer and choreographer Michiel Vandevelde, visual artist Magda Ral and video artist Jakob Rosseel.

What are the – written or unwritten – laws of the street? Who comes up with them? This inspiring group of performance artists from the Mestizo Arts Platform worked with street artists, musicians, slam poets, painters, photographers and video artists on European street laws. 

The artist Emilio López-Menchero joined pupils from the Institut Sainte-Marie in reflecting on the “thickness” of the borders. Within defined areas the young people constructed an imaginary world that is as complex as the one we live in. 

Together with actor and director Ruud Gielens, the class at the ITP Court-Saint-Etienne put together video clips on contemporary issues such as identity, citizenship, democracy and participation, and freedom of expression.  

In a Brussels station, 10 young people joined the artists Adèle Jacot and Mélanie Peduzzi to work on dazibaos, Chinese posters with a political or social message. The young people wrote their message for Europe on the posters. 

Participating schools:
Institut Sainte Marie / Saint-Gilles, Institut Technique Provincial / Court-Saint-Etienne, European School / Laken 4, Provinciaal Handels- en Taalinstituut (PHTI) / Gent, Athénée Royal d’Esneux, l’Institut Sainte Marie la Sagesse / Schaerbeek, KA Etterbeek, KA Anderlecht

Participating organisations:
Piazza dell’Arte, Artforum, De Veerman, MUS-E Belgium, De Pianofabriek, Le Petit Château / Het Klein Kasteeltje, Mestizo Arts Platform, Fiëbre vzw, Le Journal Intime de Quartier, Habitants des Images ASBL

Participating artists:
Ruud Gielens, Filip Van Dingenen, Emilio Lopèz Menchero, Guy Dermul, Mathias Ruelle, Vincen Beeckman, Magda Ral, Jakob Rosseel, Michiel Vandevelde, Hélène Amouzou, Christopher Daley, Sophie Feyder, Miroslav Kochanek, Andreia Rodrigues, Jochem Baelus, Tine Guns, Boris Magottaux (Atelier Pica Pica), Jim Maes, Thomas Nolf, Studio Urbanization, Mike van Alfen, Adèle Jacot, Mélanie Peduzzi

With the helping hands of:
UNICA Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe, ESN/Serbia, KVS, VGC

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sltRdccH-ik

23

Tout au long de cette année scolaire, deux cents jeunes issus de douze écoles et associa- tions ont rencontré des responsables politiques tels qu’Herman Van Rompuy, parrain du projet. En compagnie d’artistes, ils ont écrit des nouvelles, réalisé des films, créé des performances, des installations et des sculptures. Du 17 au 29 mai, l’exposition ‘Next Generation, Please’ présente leurs idées, leurs histoires et leurs rêves. Vont-ils inventer de nouvelles idées, écrire un nouveau chapitre européen ? Vont- ils crier haut et fort, murmurer ou rester sans voix? Nous levons un coin du voile.


Qui a fait quoi?

Encadrés de deux chorégraphes et d’un réalisateur/musicien, onze jeunes de 15 à 19 ans – et autant de personnalités – ont réalisé un spectacle de mouvement et un film de danse autour de la devise européenne : « Unie dans la diversité ».

Partant d’une recherche sur l’identité de groupe, l’artiste Tine Guns, le philosophe Jim Maes et les élèves de la 6e Tourisme ont créé « Eurotopie » ou trois pays fictifs où les valeurs humaines l’emportent. Et si des problèmes faisaient subitement aussi surface là-bas ?

Au Pianofabriek, Borderlines a rassemblé des personnes qui se sentent à l’étroit dans les conceptions traditionnelles des termes « nationalité » et « frontière ». Des jeunes aux origines variées et aux identités multiples ont partagé leurs expériences.

Pourquoi personne ne réagit à la destruction d’un monument historique en Croatie alors que celui-ci est dédié à la révolte de la population contre la domination fasciste ? La Commission, Piazza dell’Arte et l’artiste Thomas Nolf ont mené l’enquête avec des jeunes.

Accompagnés par l’artiste Filip Van Dingenen, les élèves de l’École européenne se basent sur la Carte du Monde Poétique (1968) de Marcel Broodthaers pour aborder les questions de l’iden- tité. Qui sommes-nous? D’où nous venons et où allons-nous? L’œuvre de l’artiste amérindien Jimmie Durham fut une intarissable source d’inspiration pour les étudiants, qui suivirent leur propre itinéraire sur la carte du monde.
Avec vingt réfugiés mineurs actuellement hébergés au centre d’accueil du Petit-Château, le photographe Vincen Beeckman a réalisé un magazine rassemblant clichés évocateurs, dessins et textes sur leurs pays d’origine et d’accueil.

Les artistes Mathias Ruelle et Guy Dermul ont organisé une table ronde avec 26 étudiants de 26 États membres pour débattre à la frontière de la Serbie et de la Hongrie. Le modérateur de ce débat était l’économiste et auteur britannique Philippe Legrain.

Avec le soutien du danseur et chorégraphe Michiel Vandevelde, de l’artiste plasticienne Magda Ral et du vidéaste Jakob Rosseel, les élèves de la section « Photographie et arts audiovisuels » de l’Athénée royal d’Anderlecht ont exprimé leur vision de l’Europe à travers une exposition multimédia riche en couleurs.

Quelles sont les lois – écrites ou tacites – de la rue ? Qui les définit ? Avec des artistes urbains, des musiciens, des poètes du slam, des peintres, des photographes et des vidéastes, le groupe d’artistes performers Mestizo Arts Festival s’est intéressé au thème des lois de la rue en Europe.

Les élèves de l’Institut Sainte-Marie et l’artiste Emilio López-Menchero se sont penchés sur le concept « d’épaisseur » d’une frontière. À l’intérieur de territoires délimités, les jeunes ont construit un monde imaginaire aussi complexe que le monde actuel.

Une classe de l’ITP Court-Saint-Etienne a réalisé, avec l’acteur et metteur en scène Ruud Gielens, des clips vidéo sur des thèmes actuels tels que l’identité européenne, la démocratie, la liberté d’expression, la citoyenneté et la participation citoyenne.

Dans une gare bruxelloise, dix jeunes ont collaboré avec les artistes Adèle Jacot et Mélanie Peduzzi pour créer des « dazibaos », affiches chinoises portant un message politique ou social. Sur celles-ci, les jeunes ont envoyé leur message à l’Europe.

Ecoles participantes :
Institut Sainte Marie / Saint-Gilles, Institut Technique Provincial / Court-Saint-Etienne, European School / Laken 4, Provinciaal Handels- en Taalinstituut (PHTI) / Gent, Athénée Royal d’Esneux, l’Institut Sainte Marie la Sagesse / Schaerbeek, KA Etterbeek, KA Anderlecht

Organisations participantes :
Piazza dell’Arte, Artforum, De Veerman, MUS-E Belgium, De Pianofabriek, Le Petit Château / Het Klein Kasteeltje, Mestizo Arts Platform, Fiëbre vzw, Le Journal Intime de Quartier, Habitants des Images ASBL

Artistes participants :
Ruud Gielens, Filip Van Dingenen, Emilio Lopèz Menchero, Guy Dermul, Mathias Ruelle, Vincen Beeckman, Magda Ral, Jakob Rosseel, Michiel Vandevelde, Hélène Amouzou, Christopher Daley, Sophie Feyder, Miroslav Kochanek, Andreia Rodrigues, Jochem Baelus, Tine Guns, Boris Magottaux (Atelier Pica Pica), Jim Maes, Thomas Nolf, Studio Urbanization, Mike van Alfen, Adèle Jacot, Mélanie Peduzzi

Avec l’aide de :
UNICA Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe, ESN/Serbia, KVS, VGC

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sltRdccH-ik