12

On & For Production is an initiative committed to addressing the specific conditions, requirements and discourse surrounding the production of artists’ film in both practical and conceptual terms.

Taking three works by Beatrice Gibson, Eleni Kamma and An van Dienderen as case studies, the artists and their producers will go through the various stages, challenges and collaborations that their film productions went through. The session, including the screening of the three short films, is intended to develop as a horizontal conversation in which the speakers and the audience will get a chance to share concerns, strategies as well as available and lacking means when it comes to making a film happen.

Programme / case studies:

Yar Bana Bir Eğlence: Notes On Parrhesia - Eleni Kamma (2015, color, sound, 37’24’’). Presented and discussed by the artist and Katrien Reist (Producer Jubilee).

During her residency in Istanbul in 2013, Kamma witnessed the civil protests in Taksim Gezi Park. It struck her that a clear link could be made between the way in which the public space is currently taking a new shape and how it did so in the Ottoman era: through ‘parrhesia’ and political satire, public participation and humour.

Solo For Rich Man - Beatrice Gibson (2015, color, sound, 13’35’’). Produced by Denna Cartamkhoob.

Inspired by William Gaddis’ novel J R, Beatrice Gibson’s Solo For Rich Man restages a quintet of performance pieces (including one by Fluxus artist George Maciunas) from a four-day experimental music workshop for children conceived by Gibson and renowned cellist Anton Likoszeviezs.

Lili - An van Dienderen (2015, color, sound, 11’). Presented and discussed by the artist and Natalie Gielen & Steven Op de Beeck (Producer Contour Mechelen).

'China Girls', used in cinema history since the 1920s, are women with Caucasian skin who are filmed alongside a colour-chart in order to adjust the colours of the film. Lili questions the tradition of China Girls, contextualised in a society which, according to anthropologist Michael Taussig, exemplifies chromophobic uneasiness with colour.

Moderated by Auguste Orts.

Supported by the Creative Europe programme and Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie.

12

On & For Production est une initiative dédiée à la discussion des conditions, des exigences et des discours propres à la production des films d’artistes, dans des termes à la fois pratiques et conceptuels.

Au départ de trois œuvres de Beatrice Gibson, Eleni Kamma et An van Dienderen, envisagées comme études de cas, les artistes et leurs producteurs aborderont les différentes étapes, défis et collaborations rencontrés au cours du processus de production de leurs films. Cette session, qui comprendra la projection des trois courts métrages, entend développer une conversation qui permette de partager les préoccupations, les stratégies mais aussi les ressources existantes ou manquantes lorsqu’il s’agit de faire exister un film.

Programme / études de cas:

Yar Bana Bir Eğlence: Notes On Parrhesia - Eleni Kamma (2015, 38’, couleur, sonore). Présenté par Eleni Kamma et Katrien Reist (Production: Jubilee).

Lors de sa résidence à Istanbul en 2013, Kamma fut témoin des protestations civiles du Parc Gezi. Un lien clair lui sembla pouvoir être établi entre la façon dont l'espace public est en train d’y prendre une nouvelle forme et la manière dont le même phénomène se produisit à l'époque ottomane: à travers la « parrhèsia » (liberté de parole) et la satire politique, la participation publique et l'humour.

Solo For Rich Man - Beatrice Gibson (2015, 14’, couleur, sonore). Produit par Denna Cartamkhoob.

Inspiré par le roman J R de William Gaddis, Solo for Rich Man de Beatrice Gibson rejoue cinq pièces performatives (dont une de l’artiste Fluxus George Maciunas) tirées d’un workshop de musique expérimentale de quatre jours conçu pour des enfants par Beatrice Gibson et le célèbre violoncelliste Anton Likoszeviezs.

Lili - An van. Dienderen (2015, 11’, couleur, sonore). Presenté par An van Dienderen et Natalie Gielen & Steven Op de Beeck (Production: Contour Mechelen).

Les « China girls », utilisées dans l'histoire du cinéma depuis les années 1920, sont des femmes à la peau blanche filmées à côté d'un nuancier de couleurs afin d'ajuster les couleurs d’un film. Lili interroge la tradition des China girls, contextualisée dans une société qui, selon l'anthropologue Michael Taussig, est exemplaire d’un certain malaise chromophobique.

Modéré par Auguste Orts.

Avec le soutien du programme Creative Europe de l’Union Européenne et la Commission Communautaire Flamande.