20

Join us in an exciting discussion between Greece's former minister of finance Yanis Varoufakis and Croatian philosopher Srećko Horvat, founders of the Democracy in Europe Movement (DiEM25), on the importance on whistleblowers, transparency and democracy.

As part of a unique global event which will simultaneously take place in Berlin, Paris, Madrid, Belgrade, Naples and other cities, Brussels will become part of the 4th anniversary of Julian Assange's political asylum at the Ecuadorian Embassy in London. Inspired by famous Martin Niemöller's poem "First they came ..." about cowardice of German intellectuals following the Nazis' rise to power and the subsequent purging of their chosen targets, group after group, what the event "First they came for Assange..." wants to stress is that we live in dangerous time in which everyone opposed to the political and financial powers might soon become a target.

First they came after Assange, then they came after Chelsea Manning, then they came after Edward Snowden... who is next? Although the United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention recently released the finding that Julian Assange is arbitrarily detained, and more than 500 human rights organisations, law professors, former UN office holders and Nobel Prize winners signed a letter urging governments of Sweden and UK to respect UN's decision to free Assange, he is still living at the Ecuadorian Embassy in London with fear he might be extradited to the US. 

Moderator: Laurent de Sutter (VUB)

18

Venez assister à une passionnante discussion entre l’ancien ministre grec des finances Yanis Varoufakis, et le philosophe croate Srećko Horvat, fondateurs du Democracy in Europe Movement (DiEM25), sur l’importance des lanceurs d’alerte, de la transparence et de la démocratie.

Dans le cadre d’un événement mondial inédit qui aura lieu simultanément à Berlin, Paris, Madrid, Belgrade, Naples et ailleurs, Bruxelles s’associera au 4e anniversaire de l’asile politique de Julian Assange à l’ambassade d’Équateur, à Londres. Inspiré par le célèbre poème de Martin Niemöller (Quand ils sont venus chercher...) sur la lâcheté des intellectuels allemands au moment de l'accession des nazis au pouvoir et des purges qui ont alors visé leurs ennemis, un groupe après l'autre, l’événement « First they came for Assange… » veut souligner que nous vivons à une époque dangereuse où toute personne qui s’oppose aux pouvoirs politiques et financiers peut vite devenir une cible.

D’abord, ils ont poursuivi Assange, puis Chelsea Manning, puis Edward Snowden… Qui sera le prochain ? Bien que le groupe de travail des Nations Unies sur la détention arbitraire ait récemment publié des conclusions indiquant que Julian Assange serait détenu arbitrairement, et que plus de 500 organisations de défense des droits de l’homme, professeurs de droit, anciens responsables de l’ONU et prix Nobel aient signé une lettre appelant les gouvernements de Suède et du Royaume-Uni à respecter la décision de l’ONU de libérer Assange, ce dernier vit toujours cloîtré dans l’ambassade d’Équateur à Londres, par crainte d’être extradé vers les États-Unis. 

Modérateur : Laurent de Sutter (VUB)