12

Every year many writers are killed, taken prisoner or gagged by dictatorial regimes. The Palestinian-Saudi poet Ashraf Fayadh is one of them. In 2015 he was sentenced to death by Saudi Arabia for writing ‘blasphemous poetry’. Following international protest his death sentence was converted into 8 years’ imprisonment and 16 x 50 lashes.  

In the course of an evening in the Centre for Fine Arts both Belgian and non-Belgian writers pay homage to an imprisoned writer with a debate and the presentation of a collection with poems dedicated to Fayadh : (more than) 16 times 50 words for Ashraf (PEN Belgium: Dutch and French-speaking, 2016).
With Fatena Al-Ghorra, Sven Cooremans, Charles Ducal, Annemarie Estor, Corinne Hoex, Peter Holvoet-Hanssen, Jean Jauniaux, Karel Logist, Caroline Lamarche, Peter Theunynck, Joke Van Leeuwen, Laurence Vielle, Bart Vonck and musician Sam Joris

Alongside the presentation of this book there will be a discussion about writing in times of war and dictatorship. The famous Iraqi writer Ali Bader was asked by BOZAR and PEN to write a statement about writing in times of war and dictatorship, during which he argues in favour of a cultural revolution in the Arab world. After the reading there will be a discussion with colleague-writers and activists who respond to Bader’s opinions. Participants are the Eritrean author Sulaiman Addonia, the Flemish writer Annelies Verbeke and the peace activist Mario Franssen. The talk will be moderated by Ine Roox, journalist at De Standaard.

Ashraf Fayadh is a Palestinian poet, artist, and curator who was sentenced to death by beheading for the charge of apostasy. The charges against him stem from complaints relating to supposed atheistic and blasphemous themes in his poetry collection Instructions Within. In 2016, Ashraf’s death sentence was overturned and the court imposed an eight-year prison term and 800 lashes. Fayadh’s poems are ruminations about his life as a Palestinian refugee, as well as cultural and philosophical issues.

Ali Bader was born in Baghdad and currently lives in Brussels. Chronicler of Iraqi history, he has published eleven novels since 2000, establishing himself as one of the most original voices of his generation. Papa Sartre (Éd. Seuil, 2014), winner of several literary awards in the Arab world, was the first of his works to be translated into French. His latest novel is Le musicien des nuages (2016).

Sulaiman S.M.Y. Addonia is British, born in Eritrea to an Eritrean mother and an Ethiopian father. He spent his early life in a refugee camp in Sudan following the Om Hajar massacre in 1976, and in his early teens he lived and studied in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. His first novel, The Consequences of Love, was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and has been translated into more than 20 languages. He currently lives in Brussels and is writing a new novel.

Annelies Verbeke is a Belgian novelist who also writes short stories, essays, plays, and screenplays. Her first novel Slaap! (Sleep!) sold over 75,000 copies and was published in twenty-two countries. Her novel-in-stories Assumptions was published in English in 2015. Thirty Days was nominated for prestigious literary prizes and sold over 25,000 copies.

15

Chaque année, de nombreux écrivains sont assassinés, emprisonnés ou réduits au silence par des régimes dictatoriaux. L’un d’entre eux est le poète palestino-saoudien Ashraf Fayadh. En 2015, il a été condamné à mort par l’Arabie Saoudite pour avoir écrit de la « poésie blasphématoire ». Les protestations internationales ont permis de réduire la peine de mort à huit années d’emprisonnement et à 16 fois 50 coups de fouet.

Le temps d’une soirée et d’un débat au Palais des Beaux-Arts, des écrivains belges et étrangers rendent hommage à leur collègue emprisonné en présentant un recueil de poèmes qui lui sont dédiés : (plus que) 16 fois 50 mots pour Ashraf (PEN Vlaanderen/PEN Belgique Centre francophone, 2016).
Avec Fatena Al-GhorraSven Cooremans, Charles Ducal, Annemarie Estor, Corinne Hoex, Peter Holvoet-Hanssen, Jean Jauniaux, Karel Logist, Caroline Lamarche, Peter Theunynck, Joke Van Leeuwen, Laurence Vielle, Bart Vonck et Sam Joris.

À la demande de BOZAR et PEN, le célèbre écrivain irakien Ali Bader a écrit un plaidoyer sur l’écriture en temps de guerre et sous la dictature. Celui-ci appelle à une révolution culturelle dans le monde arabe. Après sa conférence, un débat aura lieu avec des collègues-écrivains et des activistes autour des opinions exprimées. L'écrivain érythréenSulaiman Addonia, l'écrivaine flamande Annelies Verbeke ainsi que l'activiste Mario Franssen participeront au débat. La modération sera assurée par Ine Roox, journaliste (De Standaard).

Ashraf Fayadh est un poète, artiste et commissaire palestinien condamné à mort par décapitation pour apostasie. Les charges retenues contre lui font suite à des plaintes concernant les thèmes supposément blasphématoires et encourageant l’athéisme du recueil de poèmes Instructions Within. En 2016, sa condamnation à mort a été annulée et la cour l’a condamné à une peine de huit mois de prison et 800 coups de fouet. Les poèmes d’Ashraf sont des ruminations sur sa vie en tant que réfugié palestinien, ainsi que sur des questions culturelles et philosophiques.

Ali Bader est né à Bagdad et vit aujourd’hui à Bruxelles. Grand chroniqueur de la petite histoire irakienne, il a publié onze romans depuis le début des années 2000, parvenant à s’imposer comme l’une des voix les plus originales de sa génération. Papa Sartre (Éd. Seuil, 2014), qui a été couronné par plusieurs prix littéraires dans le monde arabe, est la première de ses œuvres à être traduite en français. Son dernier roman s’intitule Le musicien des nuages (2016).

Sulaiman S.M.Y. Addonia est britannique. Il est né en Érythrée d’une mère érythréenne et d’un père éthiopien. Les premières années de sa vie, il les a passées dans un camp de réfugiés au Soudan, après le massacre d’Om Hajar en 1976. Alors qu’il était un jeune adolescent, il est parti vivre et étudier à Djeddah, en Arabie saoudite. Son premier roman, The Consequences of Love / Les Amants de la mer Rouge, a été sélectionné pour le Commonwealth Writers’ Prize et a été traduit dans plus de 20 langues. Sulaiman Addonia vit actuellement à Bruxelles, où il écrit un nouveau roman.

Annelies Verbeke fait partie des jeunes écrivains flamands qui recueillent un grand succès. Slaap ! (2003), son premier roman, a été traduit en 22 langues dont le français (Dors !, Mercure de France. Elle écrit par ailleurs des scénarios et des textes pour la scène. On lui doit une anthologie de nouvelles (Naar de stad, 2012), qui a reçu un accueil enthousiaste. En 2015 a vu le jour Dertig dagen (Trente jours).