25

Architects in Residence Program – ESTONIA

WHAT?

To mark the Estonian Presidency of the Council of the European Union in the second half of 2017 and to the 100th birthday of the Republic of Estonia, in 2018, of the Estonian Declaration of Independence, the Estonian Centre of Architecture (ECA) will join the Centre for Fine Arts in Brussels (BOZAR) to set up an exchange program between architects from Belgium and Estonia. A format has been developed to allow long-term interchange and more intensive contact between the two architectural scenes. The ECA will choose young Estonian architects to participate in the project. Its choices will reflect a wide range of outlooks, from the no-nonsense to the highly engaged and quite speculative. The following practices have been approached: Salto, PART, Arhitekt Must, b210, Kaos.

This is the open call for Belgian architectural practices to participate in the Architects in Residence program and team up with practices in Estonia. Participating architects will host two Estonian architects (from one of the 5 emerging practices) for 4 to 5 days, engage in an intellectual discussion of the themes below and cover questions on research-design. The results of the collaboration will be presented in September 2017 at the Tallinn Architecture Biennale TAB 2017, in the form of an exhibition involving lectures and discussions. The results will also be exhibited and discussed in lectures at the Centre of Fine Arts in Brussels, in December 2017.

WHY?

The aim of the exchange program, and the collaboration between architectural practices in Estonia and Belgium, is to develop a joint exhibition for presentation in both countries. How do young architects and designers in Tallinn view the European capital? What specific expertise can they bring to bear on a series of urban challenges in Brussels, home of so many international institutions? How can architecture, urban design and landscaping address the symbolic deficit and how do they apply to Brussels, capital of Europe? In a series of workshops, Estonian and local architects will get the opportunity to work together to look for answers to these pressing questions through research-design.

The main project narrative is a quest to re-imagine the capital of Europe from 5 research perspectives:

1/ Symbolic deficit of the European presence in Brussels
The housing of the European institutions in a generic business district in the Leopold area communicates nothing about our European values or democracy. In the last renovation campaign the Berlaymont building, the only one to gradually attain emblematic value, was irrevocably mutilated. How might architectural, urban or landscape projects compensate for this symbolic deficit and lack of imagination? What programs, typologies and forms are implementable through a European project, in a relevant way? And where are they implementable?

2/ EU Valley
The public space between the main sites of the European institutions, the so-called Maelbeek valley, is currently fragmented. But, it is in this very area that a coherent and inspiring plan would help rebuild the image of the European project. How do we solve this problem through urban surgery?

3/ Security
Security measures are tightening their grip on the organization of the various institutions and access to them, and public space is frequently commandeered for specialist security buildings. Should we incorporate these security perimeters in the buildings wherever possible? Or simply allow their presence in the city? How do designers deal with this issue?

4/ E-government
Thanks to the advanced automation of administrative processes - a skill in which Estonia has played a leading role in recent years - we can expect to see a surplus of office space on the market in the decades to come. How will this impact on the European institutions and the district in which many of these administrative services are housed? How do architects and designers deal with this?

5/ Brussels as a mirror of Europe
Thanks to its demographic composition and geographical distribution across several districts of Brussels, the capital of Europe is often likened to a miniature version of the Europe of regions and Nation States. Many communities cohabit within a relatively small area and there is a wide diversity of cultures and languages. How does architecture and urbanism respond to this diversity?

HOW?

The Terms of the Residency:
• Belgian and Estonian practices must be present in Brussels in the week of 24 > 28 April 2017.
• Listing as a participating practice at the Tallinn Architecture Biennale (September, 2017) and at the exhibition and public debates at the Centre for Fine Arts (December, 2017).
• The organization will offer a return airline ticket, Brussels-Tallinn, and hotel expenses, for at least one architect per participating Belgian practice (September, 2017).
• Participating Belgian architects are expected to entertain the guest Estonian architects at their practices, but the organization will see to their accommodation.
• No participation fees or expenses may be claimed aside from those needed to present the work in progress at the Tallinn Architecture Biennale (September, 2017) and the exhibition at the Centre for Fine Arts (November-January, 2017) (to be discussed and approved by the ECA and BOZAR).

Guidelines:
• Open to all offices/practices/organizations on Belgian territory.
• Though English is the common language for the project, internal communication with the Centre for Fine Arts in Brussels may be in French or Dutch.
• Authors must provide all the materials needed to exhibit their works. The author's delegate is responsible for assembly and disassembly of the works.
• Some technical equipment may be provided by the organization.
• The author or delegate must be present for the start-up and shut-down of the works. Where this is not possible, simple instructions must be provided for this purpose.
• Full acceptance of these rules is implicit by virtue of participation in the competition.
Documentation required:
• Brief reasons for participation in the project and indication of preferred partner practice in  Estonia (1 A4).
• Office portfolio.

Deadline:
March, 10, 2017 at 10am
by e-mail to francis.carpentier@bozar.be

WHO?

An expert jury will select the participating practices:
Aurore Boraczek (WBA), Kristiaan Borret (bMA), Chantal Dassonville (FWB Cellule Architecture), Marie-Cécile Guyaux (A+), Iwan Strauven (BOZAR)
 

See also

22

Programme Architectes en résidence – ESTONIE

QUOI ?

A l’occasion de la présidence estonienne du Conseil de l’Union européenne lors du deuxième semestre de 2017 et du centenaire de la déclaration d’indépendance de l’Estonie en 2018, l’Estonian Centre of Architecture (ECA) et le Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles (BOZAR) prennent l’initiative de mettre en place un programme d’échange entre architectes belges et estoniens. Le format développé permettra des échanges à long terme et une intensification des contacts entre les deux scènes architecturales.
Les jeunes architectes estoniens participants sont sélectionnés par l’ECA, sur base de différents critères, comme une approche pratique ou plus spéculative et très engagée. Les bureaux suivants ont été contactés : Salto, PART, Arhitekt Must, b210, Kaos.

Il s’agit ici de l’appel ouvert  pour les bureaux d’architectes belges souhaitant participer au programme Architectes en résidence et s’associer à des agences estoniennes. Les architectes participants accueilleront dans leurs locaux deux architectes estoniens (de l’un des cinq bureaux sélectionnés) durant une période de 4-5 jours et entameront des discussions intellectuelles sur les thèmes et questions mentionnés ci-dessous, à travers de la recherche par projet. Les résultats de cette collaboration seront présentés en septembre 2017, lors de la Tallinn Architecture Biennale TAB 2017, sous la forme  d’une exposition accompagnée de conférences et discussions. L’exposition et les conférences prendront ensuite la direction du Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles en décembre 2017.

POURQUOI ?

L’objectif du programme d’échange et du travail d’équipe entre les bureaux d’architectes estoniens et belges est de développer une exposition conjointe qui sera présentée dans les deux pays. Comment les jeunes architectes et designers de Tallinn voient-ils la capitale européenne ? Quelle expertise spécifique peuvent-ils apporter pour formuler des réponses à la série de défis urbains auxquels est confrontée Bruxelles, qui abrite de nombreuses institutions internationales ? Comment l’architecture, l’urbanisme et l’aménagement paysager peuvent-ils compenser le déficit symbolique et comment abordent-ils Bruxelles comme la capitale de l’Europe ? Dans une série d’ateliers, des architectes estoniens et locaux travailleront ensemble pour formuler des réponses à ces questions urgentes à travers de la recherche par projet.

Ce programme a principalement pour but de repenser la capitale européenne à travers cinq angles de recherche :

1/ Déficit symbolique de la présence européenne à Bruxelles
Le regroupement des institutions européennes dans un quartier d’affaires banal, le quartier Léopold, ne met pas en avant les valeurs et la démocratie européennes. Le Berlaymont, le seul bâtiment à avoir progressivement acquis une force symbolique, a été irrévocablement mutilé lors de ses dernières rénovations. Comment des interventions architecturales, urbaines ou paysagères peuvent-elles compenser ce déficit symbolique et ce manque d’imagination ? Quels programmes, typologies et formes pourraient être exploités de manière pertinente à travers un projet européen ? Et où ?

2/ Vallée de l’UE
L’espace public entre les principaux sites des institutions européennes, situé dans la « vallée du Maelbeek », est actuellement fragmenté. Pourtant, c’est précisément dans cette zone que la création d’un plan cohérent et inspirant pourrait contribuer à renouveler l’image du projet européen. Comment la chirurgie urbaine pourrait-elle remédier à ce problème ?

3/ Sécurité
Les mesures de sécurité ont une influence croissante sur l’organisation et l’accessibilité des différentes institutions. Souvent, une partie de l’espace public est réquisitionnée pour l’installation de bâtiments de sécurité spécialisés. Devons-nous le plus possible incorporer ces périmètres de sécurité dans les édifices ou simplement leur laisser de la place dans la ville ? Comment les designers abordent-ils cette question ?

4/ Gouvernement électronique
Grâce au traitement électronique avancé des procédures administratives – un domaine dans lequel l’Estonie se profile comme un leader depuis quelques années – nous pouvons nous attendre à ce que de nombreux espaces de bureau deviennent disponibles sur le marché dans les dizaines d’années à venir. Quelles en seront les conséquences pour les institutions européennes et le quartier qui héberge de nombreux services administratifs ? Comment les architectes et designers gèrent-ils cette donnée?

5/ Bruxelles, miroir de l’Europe
Avec sa composition démographique et sa distribution géographique à travers ses différentes communes, la capitale de l’Europe est souvent considérée comme une version miniature de l’Europe des régions et des Etats-nations. Sur un territoire relativement petit, de nombreuses communautés cohabitent, avec une diversité de cultures et de langues. Comment l’architecture et l’urbanisme peuvent-ils répondre à cette multiplicité ?

COMMENT ?

Conditions de la résidence :
• Présence requise des bureaux belges et estoniens à Bruxelles durant la semaine du 24 au 28 avril.
• Mention en tant que bureau participant lors de la Tallinn Architecture Biennale (septembre 2017) et durant l’exposition et les débats publics au Palais des Beaux-Arts (décembre 2017).
• Billets d’avion aller et retour Bruxelles-Tallinn et frais d’hôtel offerts par l’organisation à au moins un architecte par bureau belge participant.
• Les architectes belges participants devront accueillir les architectes estoniens dans leurs bureaux, mais cela n’inclut pas l’hébergement, qui sera fourni par l’organisation.
• Aucun remboursement de frais ou indemnité de participation n’est prévu, en dehors des dépenses nécessaires pour la présentation des travaux en cours lors de la Tallinn Architecture Biennale (septembre 2017) et l’exposition au Palais des Beaux-Arts (novembre 2017-janvier 2018), à discuter avec l’ECA et BOZAR.

Directives :
• Ouvert à tous les bureaux/agences/organisations situés sur le territoire belge.
• La langue commune de ce projet est l’anglais, mais le français ou le néerlandais peuvent être utilisés pour la communication interne avec le Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles.
• Les auteurs doivent fournir tout le matériel nécessaire pour exposer leur travail. Une personne désignée par les auteurs sera responsable du montage et du démontage des œuvres.
• L’organisation fournira les équipements techniques éventuellement nécessaires.
• L’auteur ou la personne désignée doit être présent pour le lancement et la clôture des œuvres. Si c’est impossible, des instructions simples doivent être fournies à cette fin.
• La participation au concours implique l’acceptation totale de ces règles.
Documents requis :
• Brève explication des motivations à participer à ce projet et indication du bureau estonien préféré pour la collaboration (1 A4).
• Portefeuille du bureau.
 

Date limite :
10 mars 2017 à 10 h
à envoyer par e-mail à francis.carpentier@bozar.be

QUI ?

Un jury composé d’experts sélectionnera les bureaux participants :
Aurore Boraczek (WBA), Kristiaan Borret (bMA), Chantal Dassonville (FWB Cellule Architecture), Marie-Cécile Guyaux (A+), Iwan Strauven (BOZAR)
 

Voir aussi